Andrew Brock earned all-BIG EAST accolades in the shot put.

Irish Men Third, Women Ninth After Day Two At BIG EAST Championships

May 5, 2012

Live Results

Complete Results

TAMPA, Fla. – A pair of Notre Dame track and field student-athletes earned all-BIG EAST accolades and 22 qualified for Sunday finals on day two of the 2012 BIG EAST Outdoor Track and Field Championships at USF Track and Field Stadium in Tampa, Fla. The men are in third, while the women are in ninth.

Earning all-BIG EAST honors were junior Ted Glasnow (Decathlon) and sophomore Andrew Brock (Shot Put).

The Irish men have 31 points and are only 14 points out of first. The women are in ninth, but only 19.50 points out of first.

The final day of the three-day meet gets underway at 10 a.m. with the men’s pole vault.

RESULTS (Top Eight Only)

Glasnow earned all-BIG EAST honors in the decathlon after finishing third. He placed sixth in the 110m hurdles (15.92), second in the discus (39.86m), second in the pole vault (4.45m) and second in the 1,500m (4:43.18). Dean Odegard took fifth, highlighted by a victory in the 1,500m (4:30.75).

Kelly Burke finished in a tie for seventh in the women’s pole vault with a vault of 3.75m to earn the Irish 1.5 points.

A pair of Irish leapers scored points in the long jump as Keith Mesidor (7.33m) and Logan Renwick (7.27m) finished fifth and seventh, respectively.

Andrew Brock earned all-BIG EAST honors in the shot put with a third-place finish (17.33m). A day after winning the BIG EAST hammer throw championship, Andrew Hills took seventh with a toss of 15.99m.

Carly Loeffel closed out the heptathlon with a sixth-place finish after placing fourth in the 800m run (2:22.80), seventh in the long jump (5.32m) and 10th in the javelin (23.79m).

Patrick Lesiewicz earned a point for the Irish in the 5,000m run with a time of 14:32.38.

Emily Morris took seventh in the shot put with a toss of 14.60m.


Three Irish women’s 1,500m runners qualified for the finals: Rebecca Tracy (3rd, 4:24.40), Kelly Curran (5th, 4:25.16) and Alexa Aragon (7th, 4:26.01).

Jeremy Rae (3:51.56) and Johnathan Shawel (3:51.97) qualified first and second for the 1,500m finals.

Jade (13.41) and Kaila Barber (13.45) qualified third and fourth, respectively, in the 100m hurdles prelims.

Michelle Brown qualified third for the finals of the 400m dash with a time of 54.58.

Three Irish sprinters qualified for the finals in the 400m dash. Freshman Chris Giesting led the way with a second-place finish (47.05). Defending champion Patrick Feeney qualified sixth (47.30) and Brendan Dougherty took eighth (47.75).

Giesting also qualified second in the 200m dash (21.00). Also qualifying were Feeney (21.19) and Josh Atkinson (21.20).

Sophomore Jarrod Buchanon qualified sixth in the 400m hurdles with a time of 52.79.

In the women’s 400m dash, K. Barber qualified second for the finals with a time of 58.46, while Megan Yanik qualified fourth with a time of 59.51.

Randall Babb (1:52.64) and Mitchell Lorenz (1:50.32) qualified fourth and fifth, respectively, in the 800m run.

George Atkinson III qualified second in the 100m dash with a time of 10.36. Brother Josh Atkinson crossed the line in eighth to also qualify for the finals in 10.50. J. Atkinson has now qualified for two Sunday finals.

In the women’s 100m dash, Aijah Urssery qualified fourth with a time of 11.55.


Andrew Hills (Hammer Throw)*
Andrew Brock (Shot Put)
Ted Glasnow (Decathlon)

Gabby Gonzales (10,000m)