Dec. 8, 2001


The University of Notre Dame men’s and women’s swimming and diving teams ended a great three days of competition by claiming the team titles at the 2001 Notre Dame Invitational at Rolfs Aquatic Center on Saturday. The men ended up winning the meet with 2,203 points over Oakland (1,862.5), while the women posted 2,383 points en route to victory over Connecticut (1,667).

In contrast to the first two days of competition when both teams earned a number of individual victories, the final day of the meet was an example of both team’s excellent depth.

The women took four of the top five spots in the 200 backstroke, led by 14-time BIG EAST Champion Kelly Hecking in second place (2:02.98). Marie Labosky, Danielle Hulick, and Jessica Roberts, followed in third, fourth and fifth place, respectively.

The men’s team was equally adept in the 200 back, led by David Horak in second place (1:52.30). Dean Wolf finished third in 1:52.43, while John Hudson took fifth in 1:53.98.

Laurie Musgrave won the 200 breaststroke for the women’s team in 2:18.98, followed closely by Allison Lloyd in second. The depth pattern continued in the 200 breast for the men, as Jason Fitzpatrick finished second in 2:04.60, Mike Koss third and David Moisan fourth.

Both Notre Dame teams continued to flex their strength in the 200 butterfly. Lisa Garcia, Marie Labosky and Brooke Taylor finished one-two-three for the women, while on the men’s side J.R. Teddy took first in 1:53.94, followed by Lucas Wymore in second.

Earlier in the day, senior co-captain Jonathan Pierce topped off a great personal meet with a victory in the 1650 freestyle (15:47.12). Pierce ended up with three individual victories in the Invitational (1650 free, 400 individual medley and 500 free).

Rounding out the Irish victories on the day was diver Andy Maggio. His 333.00 one-meter score was over 80 points better than his closest competitor.