Junior Margaret Bamgbose

Irish Look To Secure Best Times At Jesse Owens Track Classic

April 30, 2015

Meet Central
Live Results
Schedule of Events

NOTRE DAME, Ind. — The University of Notre Dame men’s and women’s track & field teams will travel to Columbus, Ohio, this weekend for their penultimate regular season meet before the championship season begins.

The Fighting Irish will take part in the Jesse Owens Track Classic on Friday and Saturday at the Jesse Owens Memorial Track on the campus of Ohio State University. Individuals and teams representing more than 35 schools, as well as post-collegiate entries, will be present, with action beginning at 2 p.m. EDT Friday. Saturday’s events will kick off at 10 a.m. EDT.

Notre Dame head coach Alan Turner said that the meet offers his best student-athletes a final chance to improve their qualifying marks while allowing for a week of rest before the ACC Outdoor Championships in Tallahassee, Florida. Those that might still need to bolster their resumes will have the chance to do so at the GVSU Last Chance Meet in Allendale, Michigan, on May 9.

“This is basically our last meet where the bulk of our team are going to be in their main events,” Turner said. “The focus this weekend is to have everybody get a last good final time before they go into the conference meet healthy, fast and confident.”

The 16th-ranked Notre Dame women will field their elite sprint group at Ohio State, though junior standout Margaret Bamgbose will take a break from the 400 meters, in which she owns the nation’s seventh-best time and the second-best time in the Atlantic Coast Conference (51.97), and instead compete in the 100 and 200 meters.

For the men, Turner is simply looking for continued improvement from a group that has been hampered by injuries and has sometimes underperformed. He will be looking for momentum-building races from athletes such as Patrick O’Connell, Alex Groesch and Harvey Smith that might show some needed consistency. Senior star Chris Giesting will get the weekend off.

The Irish will also give their relay teams — save for the women’s 4×100-meter group — a rest as well.

To keep up with Irish track & field, follow @NDXCTF on Twitter and like Notre Dame Cross Country/Track & Field on Facebook.

Jesse Owens Track Classic
May 1-2, 2015
Jesse Owens Memorial Track – Ohio State University
2 p.m. — Javelin: Brett Whalen
4:30 p.m. — Discus: Lena Madison
8:10 p.m. — 1,500 meters: Syndi Meunier, Emily Frydrych, Ashlyn Rambo, Karen Lesiewicz
10:30 a.m. — Shot Put Championship: Emily Morris
11 a.m. Long Jump: Emily Carson
Noon — 4×100-meter relay: Notre Dame A (Kaila Barber, Jade Barber, Parker English, Margaret Bamgbose)      
12:20 p.m. — 100-meter hurdles: Jade Barber, Kaila Barber, Carly Loeffel, Rachel Rhodes
1:20 p.m. — 400 meters: Jordan Shead, Amber Lalla, Payton Miller
1:30 p.m. — Pole Vault: Kayla Polcari
1:30 p.m. – Hammer Throw: Lena Madison
1:40 p.m. — 100 meters: Jade Barber, Margaret Bamgbose, Parker English, Emily Carson
2 p.m. — High Jump: Rachel Rhodes, Carly Loeffel
2 p.m. – Triple Jump: Mary-Esther Gourdin
2:05 p.m. — 800 meters: Danielle Aragon, Samantha Murray, Jamie Marvil, Alex Daugherty
2:55 p.m. — 400-meter hurdles: Kaila Barber, Michelle Rotondo, Mikaila Chamblee, Jordan Shead
3:15 p.m. – 200 meters: Parker English, Margaret Bamgbose, Amber Lalla, Carly Loeffel, Payton Miller, Rachel Rhodes
2 p.m. — Discus: Anthony Shivers, Dominick Padovano
4:30 p.m. — Javelin: Greg Bombara
7:50 p.m. — 5,000 meters showcase: Kris Moran
8:40 p.m. — 1,500 meters: Jacob Dumford, Christopher Quinn, Chris Marco
10 a.m. — Pole Vault: David Schipper, Nathan Richartz
10:30 a.m. — Hammer Throw: Anthony Shivers, Nicholas Hauser, Dominick Padovano
11 a.m. — Long Jump: Brent Swanberg, Keith Mesidor
11 a.m. — High Jump: Hunter Holton
12:35 p.m. — 110-meter hurdles: Brent Swanberg
1:25 p.m. — 400 meters: Harvey Smith, Alex Groesch, Brent Swanberg
2:25 p.m. — 800 meters: Patrick O’Connell, Eric Gebeke, Jacob Dumford, Andrew Stone, Grant Koch, Kirk Hansen, Christopher Quinn, Chris Marco
3:05 p.m. – 400-meter hurdles: Aaron Dunn
3:30 p.m. – 200 meters: Alex Groesch, Harvey Smith

Joanne Norell, Media Relations Assistant