Sophomore Aijah Urssery sits second in the 60m dash heading into the BIG EAST Indoor Track and Field Championships.

Irish Head To The Big Apple In Search Of BIG EAST Titles

Feb. 16, 2012

Meet Central (Live Video/Live Results)

Heat Sheets

NOTRE DAME, Ind. – Notre Dame heads to New York, N.Y., this weekend for the BIG EAST Indoor Track and Field Championships that will take place at the New Balance Track & Field Center at the Armory on Saturday and Sunday.

Free live streaming and live results will be provided by the conference office, with a link available on

“There is a lot of history and tradition at the Armory,” said head coach Joe Piane. “When you think track and field on the East coast, you think the Armory. We are excited to compete at a very good facility.”

The Notre Dame men send 35 student-athletes to New York as it looks to win its first title since 2010. Last year the Irish placed second, finishing only 4.75 points behind conference champion Connecticut. Returning for the Irish off that runner-up team are four student-athletes who won titles including Patrick Feeney (400m), Johnathan Shawel (1,000m, 4x800m), Jeremy Rae (Mile, 4x800m) and Kevin Schipper (Pole Vault). Earning all-BIG EAST honors in addition to the returning champions were Jordan Carlson (1,000m, 3,000m) and J.P. Malette (Mile).

Heading into the championships, five men are in the top-three in their respective event/s including Feeney (200m, 400m), Chris Giesting (400m, 500m), Randall Babb (800m), Rae (1,000m, Mile) and Schipper (Pole Vault). The Irish are also second in the 4×400 and 4x800m relays.

The men have won four titles (2003, 2005, 2007, 2010) and finished in the top three every year they have been in the BIG EAST (1996-present), including finishing second eight times.

“On the men’s side there are probably five teams that can win it, and we are one of them,” said Piane. “We need guys like Kevin Schipper, Johnathan Shawel, Jeremy Rae and Patrick Feeney that have won BIG EAST events before to have big meets as well as others to perform well to have a shot to win.”

The women send 33 student-athletes to the Armory this weekend as it looks to win its first title since 2006. The Irish have claimed the title twice (2002, 2006) and finished in the top-three seven times (1999, 2002-07). Their last top-three finish came in 2007, when the Irish placed second with 102 points.

Last year Notre Dame finished eighth with 56 points and return just one student-athlete from last year’s squad that earned all-BIG EAST accolades (Rebecca Tracy, Mile).

Heading into the weekend, four women are in the top-three in their respective event/s including Aijah Urssery (60m), Kaila Barber (60m H, LJ), Nevada Sorenson (60m H) and Maddie Buttinger (Pentathlon). Notre Dame’s 4x800m relay team currently sits first in the BIG EAST.

“I feel that we have a good broad based team,” said Piane. “We don’t necessarily have to win a lot of events, but we need to score in a lot of events, and I think we can do that.”

A full recap will be available following each day on


BOLD = Reigning BIG EAST Champion
* = Reigning All-BIG EAST

Alexa Aragon – Mile, 3,000m
Jade Barber – 200m, 60m H
Kaila Barber – 200m, 400m, 60m H, LJ
Kathryn Barousse – PV
Mason Bashaw – WT
Michelle Brown – 200m, 400m
Kelly Burke – PV, TJ
Maddie Buttinger – 500m, 60m H, HJ, LJ, Pentathlon
Madeline Casanova – SP, WT
Jessie Christian – LJ, TJ
Kelly Curran – 800m, 1,000m, Mile
Emily Frydrych – 800m, 1,000m, Mile
Natalie Geiger – 200m, 400m
Mary Esther Gourdin – TJ
Molly Hirt – Mile, 3,000m
Kendra Jennings – HJ
Amber Lalla – 500m
Lauren Leniart – LJ
Carly Loeffel – HJ, Pentathlon
Emily Morris – SP, WT
Fiona Paladino – HJ, Pentathlon
Ann Polcari – PV
Kayla Polcari – PV
Meg Ryan – Mile, 3,000m
Angela Ryck – 1,000m
Jessica Rydberg – 3,000m, 5,000m
Allison Schroeder – 800m, 1,000m
McKinzie Schulz – 800m, 1,000m, Mile, 3,000m
Nevada Sorenson – 60m H
Rebecca Tracy – DMR, 4x800m Relay
Aijah Urssery – 60m, 200m
Rachel Velarde – 3,000m, 5,000m
Megan Yanik – 400m, 500m

George Atkinson III – 60m, 200m
Josh Atkinson – 60m, 200m
Randall Babb – 800m, 1,000m
Andrew Brock – SP
Jarrod Buchanon – 200m, 400m, 60m H
Kevin Byrne – 1,000m
Jordan Carlson – 800m, 1,000m*, Mile, 5,000m
Brendan Dougherty – 400m
Jack Favorite – 1,000m
Patrick Feeney – 60m, 200m, 400m*
Eddy Gibbons – 800m, 1,000m
Chris Giesting – 200m, 400m, 500m
Ted Glasnow – HJ, Heptathlon
Andrew Hills – SP, WT
Bennett Jackson – 60m, 60m H
Jake Kildoo – Mile, 5,000m
Mitchell Lorenz – 800m
Kelly Lynch – Mile, 5,000m
Jeff MacMillan – Mile, 5,000m
J.P. Malette – Mile*, 3,000m, 5,000m
Keith Mesidor – 200m, LJ
Joe Miller – Mile, 5,000m
Dean Odegard – Heptathlon
Doug Onuscheck – HJ
Jeremy Rae – 800m, 1,000m, Mile*, 4x800m Relay*
Logan Renwick – LJ, TJ
David Schipper – PV
Kevin SchipperPV*
Johnathan Shawel – 800m, 1,000m*
Mike Smigelski – WT
Jordan Stumph – WT
Peter Sullivan – HJ, Heptathlon
Zac Suriano – 800m, 1,000m
Anthony Thomas – WT
DJ Thornton – 1,000m, Mile