Junior Jade Barber

Irish Get Back Into Gear At Simmons-Harvey Invitational This Weekend

Jan. 16, 2014

NOTRE DAME, Ind. – For the first time in the New Year, the Notre Dame men’s and women’s track and field teams will compete this week. The Irish will travel to Ann Arbor, Mich., for the Simmons-Harvey Invitational, hosted by the University of Michigan.

Notre Dame will be taking 35 women and 28 men to the meet this weekend in preparation for the bigger Notre Dame Invitational held at home Jan. 25.

“It’s an opportunity to get started,” says head coach Joe Piane. “It’s a question mark to what kind of shape these kids are in, and we’ve got an idea, but we’ll find out on Saturday.”

Piane also remarked that because some student-athletes go home to colder parts of the country, they don’t have as many opportunities to stay in shape during the time off. The Simmons-Harvey Invitational will get both Irish teams back on the same page, training wise.

“We’ll find out what kind of condition people are in,” he says, “and starting next week, we’re trying to get kids qualified for the ACC meet. We have some kids who are at the national level, and we need to get them ready to get qualified at upcoming meets.”

Field events begin at 10:30 a.m. in Ann Arbor this Saturday, Jan. 18, with running events following at 12:30 p.m. Results will be posted here at UND.com.

Women (35)

Kelsey Amarosa, Alexa Aragon, Danielle Aragon, Margaret Bamgbose, Jade Barber, Kaila Barber, Michelle Brown, Kelly Burke, Emily Carson, Jessie Christian, Kelly Curran, Vivien Devaney, Taylor Driscoll, Emily Frydrych, Kaileen Healy, Josephine Jackson, Madlen Karnatz, Amber Lalla, Karen Lesiewicz, Carly Loeffel, Catherine Lombardo, Lena Madison, Jamie Marvil, Sydni Meunier, Meghan Moore, Emily Morris, Ihuoma Nwaogwugwu, Fiona Paladino, Kayla Polcari, Michelle Rotondo Libby Schichtel, Allison Sullivan, Aijah Urssery, Laura Wendelberger, Megan Yanik

Men (28)

Carson Barnes, Andrew Brock, Jarrod Buchanon, Jacob Dumford, Aaron Dunn, Nick Dunn, Jack Favorite, Pat Feeney, George Georgaklis, Chris Giesting, Ted Glasnow, Alex Groesch, Nicholas Hauser, Patrick Krach, Chris Marco, Patrick O’Connell, Dominick Padovano, Logan Renwick, Nathan Richartz, John Rutkowski, David Schipper, Anthony Shivers, Harvey Smith, Conner Stapleton, Andrew Stone, Jordan Stumph, Brent Swanberg, Bryce Wood

–Lauren Chval, Media Relations Assistant