Notre Dame Fighting Irish - Official Athletics Website

Irish Finish Third At ACC Rowing Championship

May 14, 2017

The University of Notre Dame rowing team finished third overall at the 2017 ACC Rowing Championship, bolstered by strong efforts from the Varsity Eight and Second Varsity Eight to cap the day-long competition at Lake Hartwell in Clemson, South Carolina.

The Varsity Eight crew of Emily Stinebaugh, Gretchen Bruggeman, Erin Boxberger, Treasa O’Tighearnaigh, Laura Migliore, Catherine Wagner, Elizabeth Gilbert, Lauren Saunee and coxswain Reilly Kearney finished second (6:23.172) to No. 11 Virginia (6:19.734) and just in front of No. 13 Syracuse (6:23.584). The Irish have now finished second at the ACC championship in three of the four years they have competed in the conference meet.

The Second Varsity Eight featured Mara Bhalla, Chris Schindele-Murayama, Bailey Amenabar, Erin Dolan, Elizabeth Walter, Moira Hamilton, Bridget Adam, Kelly Fischer and coxswain Samantha Hedrick. The boat placed third (6:31.967) in the Grand Final behind Syracuse (6:22.664) and Virginia (6:23.327). It is the fourth straight ACC regatta that the Second Varsity Eight has finished third in the Grand Final.

Virginia claimed the overall championship title with four race victories in the evening session to compile 96 total points and its eighth straight ACC title. Syracuse placed second with 83 points, followed by the Irish (73) and Duke (65). The third-place finish is a one-spot improvement over the team’s fourth-place slot last season, following runner up finishes at the ACC Championship in 2014 and 2015.

Freshman Emily Stinebaugh, who started her first year with the Irish in the Varsity Four, moved up to the Varsity Eight and finished the season in the first seat, was named the 2017 ACC Freshman of the Year. Senior Erin Boxberger earned first-team All-ACC honors while Treasa O’Tighearnaigh was named to the second team.

In the other Grand Final races of the day for Notre Dame, the Third Varsity Eight placed fourth, the Varsity Four fifth and the Second Varsity Four sixth.


ACC Coach of the Year-Justin Moore, Syracuse

ACC Crew of the Year-Syracuse Second Varsity Eight

ACC Freshman of the Year-Emily Stinebaugh, Notre Dame

2017 All-ACC Rowing Team

First Team

Coxswain-Colette Lucas-Conwell, Virginia

Georgia Ratcliff, Virginia

Erin Briggs, Virginia

Ellen Pate, Virginia

Lexie Gill, Syracuse

Hallie Taylor, Syracuse

Erin Boxberger, Notre Dame

Katherine Maitland, Duke

Sarah Podwojski, Louisville

Second Team

Coxswain–Rebecca Spraggins, Syracuse

Allie Nicholson, Virginia

Treasa O’Tighearnigh, Notre Dame

Shannon Tierney, Duke

Kirsti Harrison, Louisville

Amelia Shein, Clemson

Taegen Lynch, Miami

Kelly Williams, North Carolina

Caitlin Yaccarino, Boston College


Virginia 96

Syracuse 83

Notre Dame 73

Duke 65

Louisville 62

Clemson 49

Boston College 28

North Carolina 20

Miami (FL) 19


First Varsity Eight –

Preliminaries – 2nd, Heat 2, 6:49.561

Grand Final – 2nd, 6:23.172

Second Varsity Eight –

Preliminaries – 2nd, Heat 2, 6:43.259

Grand Final – 3rd, 6:31.967

First Varsity Four –

Preliminaries – 3rd, Heat 1, 7:48.659

Grand Final – 5th, 7:19.824

Second Varsity Four –

Preliminaries – 3rd, Heat 1, 7:44.642

Grand Final – 6th, 7:29.514

Third Varsity Eight –

Preliminaries – 2nd, heat 1, 6:56.671

Grand Final – 4th, 6:44.084


The Irish will see if they have earned an at-large bid to the NCAA Championship regatta on Tuesday, May 16, at 5 p.m. ET on