March 1, 2005

Notre Dame, Ind. – Notre Dame seniors Chris Thomas and Jacqueline Batteast are are among the 10 male and female finalists for the 2005 Bayer Advantage Senior Class Award.

The Senior CLASS Award — an acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School — was launched during the 2001-02 college basketball season. It is designed to honor the atributes of seniors who remain committed to their university and elect to pursue the many rewards that a senior season can bring. Legendary sportscaster Dick Enberg initiated the idea for the award and now serves as Honorary Chairman.

A national committee of sportswriters and sportscasters selected the 10 finalists for the fourth annual award. The names of the finalists will appear on the official ballot during the national voting process throughout the month of March.

The winners will be determined by a points system involving three voting groups: the national media committee, Division I head basketball coaches, and national online fan balloting via the offial website —