Senior Blas Moros was named BIG EAST Men's Tennis Player of the Week Tuesday.

Irish End Tom Fallon Invitational With Impressive Sunday

Oct. 7, 2012

NOTRE DAME, Ind. – The Notre Dame men’s tennis team closed out the 2012 Tom Fallon Invitational in impressive fashion on Sunday at Eck Tennis Pavilion as the Irish won eight of 11 singles matches and both doubles contests.

For the weekend the Irish cleaned up as they won 30 of their 37 singles matches and seven of their 10 doubles contests.

On Sunday Greg Andrews, Billy Pecor, Wyatt McCoy, Quinton Monaghan, Nicolas Montoya and Michael Moore all won in straight sets, while Blas Moros and Spencer Talmadge won in super sets. Moros took down Mike Zhu of Michigan, 6-1, 6-7, 1-0 (10-8), while Talmadge defeated Northern Illinois’ Simon Formont, 3-6, 6-2, 1-0 (10-7).

In doubles, sophomores Dougie Barnard and Michael Fredericka teamed up to knock off Christian Roehmer and Doug Zade from Michigan State, 8-4, while Andrews and Talmadge rolled past Axel Lagerlof and Simon Formont from Northern Illinois, 8-2.

For their efforts on the weekend, Moros, Andrews, Talmadge and McCoy earned a spot on the all-tournament team, with Moros earning MVP honors.

The Irish next look towards the USTA/ITA Midwest Regional Championships in two weeks in East Lansing, Mich. The competition is slated for Oct. 18-22.

All-Tournament Team
Blas Moros (Notre Dame)
Greg Andrews (Notre Dame)
Spencer Talmadge (Notre Dame)
Wyatt McCoy (Notre Dame)
Becker O’Shaughnessy (Alabama)
Alex Petrone (Michigan)
Michael Zhu (Michigan)
John Patrick Mullane (Michigan State)
Dor Amir (Northern Illinois)

Blas Moros (Notre Dame)

Barnard/Fredericka (ND) d. Roehmer/Zade (MSU), 8-4
Andrews/Talmadge (ND) d. Lagerlof/Formont (NIU), 8-2

Greg Andrews (ND) d. Alex Petrone (UM), 6-4, 6-2
Blas Moros (ND) d. Michael Zhu (UM), 6-1, 6-7, 1-0 (10-8)
Billy Pecor (ND) d. Vlad Stefan (UM), 7-6, 6-2
Wyatt McCoy (ND) d. Barrett Franks (UM), 7-6, 6-2
Quinton Monaghan (ND) d. Alex Buzzi (UM), 6-4, 6-0
Dor Amir (NIU) d. Ryan Bandy (ND), 6-2, 6-3
Axel Lagerlof (NIU) d. Alex Lawson (ND), 5-7, 6-1, 1-0 (10-8)
Spencer Talmadge (ND) d. Simon Formont (NIU), 3-6, 6-2, 1-0 (10-7)
Jovan Zeljkovic (NIU) d. Ken Sabacinski (ND), 4-6, 6-1, 1-0 (10-4)
Nicolas Montoya (ND) d. Max Phillips (NIU), 6-1, 6-1
Michael Moore (ND) d. Maksym Lagutin (NIU), 6-0, 6-1