sohomore James Lichtenstein, competing in his first ACC Championship, finished 10th in the men's 1-meter event.

Irish Divers Put In Strong Performance on First Day of ACC Diving Championships

Feb. 18, 2015

ATLANTA, Ga. – With their Atlantic Coast Conference swimming championships taking place next week, the University of Notre Dame men’s swimming team stayed in South Bend an extra week to practice – yet, they still paid close attention to the happenings at the Campus Recreation Center at Georgia Tech, as their diving cohorts began their championship competition Wednesday. Sophomores James Lichtenstein and Joe Coumos had the top finishes for the Irish, barely missing qualifying for the evening finals session.

“Overall, we showed promise, and we can do better,” Irish diving head coach Caiming Xie said. “James had a very consisten day in his first ACC Championship competition, and we still have the 3-meter and platform events here, and NCAA Zones to continue building. We will learn from today’s meet, and use the experience to move forward and improve.”

Lichtenstein finished in 10th place with his 314.40 score. Coumos, making his second appearance at ACC Championships, finished in 11th (313.90).

Diving in one of their last meets with Notre Dame, seniors Nick Nemetz and Michael Kreft came in 17th and 21st respectively. Nemetz scored a 289.75 mark, while Kreft earned a 279.40 showing.

The diving competition continues for the women’s squad tomorrow, as Allison Casareto, Lindsey Streepey, Emma Gaboury and Christine Stitcher tackle the 1-meter competition (all four competed in the women’s 3-meter event earlier Wednesday). For the men, Friday features the 3-meter event and Saturday both men’s and women’s divers will compete in the platform competition.

Stay tuned to both and for full diving results throughout the week.

FINAL Men’s 1-Meter Diving Results:

1. Briada Herrera (Miami) 453.85

2. Samuel Dorman (Miami) 404.80

3. JB Kolod (UVA) 372.90

4. Jared Butts (VA Tech) 366.55

5. John Nyquist (UNC) 361.75

6. Dylan Grisell (FSU) 331.95

7. Carl Buergler (UVA) 321.65

8. Thomas Shinholser (VA Tech) 308.35

9. Osmund Moyer (UNC) 316.85

10. James Lichtenstein (ND) 314.40

11. Joe Coumos (ND) 313.90

12. Domin Giordano (Pitt) 303.90

13. Brad Homza (GA Tech) 299.80

14. Logan Stevens (VA Tech) 296.20

15. Sean Burston (UNC) 294.60

16. Ryan Fox (UNC) 294.10

17. Nick Nemetz (ND) 289.75

18. M. Castro-Silva (VA Tech) 287.65

19. Colin Shinholser (UVA) 283.55

20. Dustin Miller (FSU) 280.70

21. Michael Kreft (ND) 279.40

22. Tyler Roberge (FSU) 277.95

23. Sean Piner (LOU) 276.55

24. Cole Maltesta (BC) 273.85

25. Omar Eteiba (GA Tech) 251.30

26. Harry Bergman (Pitt) 242.20

27. Anthony Galante (Pitt) 227.85

28. Jordan Sacks (UVA) 202.50

29. Jack McCarthy (BC) 198.90

30. Jacob Lenhart (Pitt) 195.10

31. Cameron Johnson (FSU) 187.15

Lizzie Mikes,

Media Services Coordinator