Michael Kreft won the 3M dive Friday in the dual meet at Oakland

Irish Cruise To Victory In Dual Meet At Oakland

Oct. 26, 2012

Complete Results

ROCHESTER, Mich. – The University of Notre Dame men’s swimming and diving team claimed first place in 11 of the 16 team events Friday in a 191-107 victory over Oakland University in a dual meet at the OU Aquatic Center.

All-American Frank Dyer was a double race winner for the Fighting Irish, taking the gold in the 50 free (21.23) and 200 free (1:38.73). Dyer also swam the anchor leg of the first place 200 medley relay squad that included Bill Bass, Cameron Miller and Bogac Ayhan (1:31.95). Zachary Stephens brought home a pair of top finishes in the 100 breast (55.86) and 200 breast (2:04.10).

Notre Dame travels to Michigan State Saturday for a 12 p.m. meet at the McCaffree Pool.


200 Medley Relay: The second Notre Dame entry of Bertie Nel, Christopher Johnson, Broderick Kelley and Kevin Overholt posted a third-place finish, clocking a 1:32.40.

1,000 Free: James McEldrew touched the wall in 9:28.27 to claim runner-up honors to lead all Fighting Irish finishers. Brennan Jacobsen (9:44.22) and Patrick Murphy (9:59.84) finished in fourth and fifth place, respectively.

200 Free: Colin Babcock claimed a second place result behind Dyer, logging a time of 1:41.86. Patrick Olson (1:43.64) finished in fourth.

100 Back: Nel led the Fighting Irish in third place, recording a time of 50.86. Freshmen Matt Buerger (51.64) and Ayhan (52.32) rounded out the top-five.

100 Breast: Notre Dame claimed all three places on the podium, as Miller (56.79) and Johnson (57.09) touched in behind Stephens.

200 Fly: John Williamson won the gold in a race that went down to the wire, logging a final time of 1:52.07. Bass was right behind in second place, clocking a 1:52.81, while Tylor Gauger came in fifth (1:54.42).

50 Free: Overholt was a mere .12 seconds behind Dyer in his runner-up finish (23.35), while John McGinley completed a third place run in 21.39.

100 Free: McGinley came away with the gold after swimming the race in 46.44, while Buerger logged a time of 47.53 for a third-place finish.

200 Back: Nel was the top performer for the Fighting Irish, tapping in at 1:51.16 to earn runner-up honors. Michael Scheid logged a 1:57.45 for fifth.

200 Breast: Johnson (2:08.90) and Joshua Choi (2:10.43) claimed third and fourth place, respectively, behind the victorious Stephens.

500 Free: Kevin Hughes was the first Notre Dame swimmer to touch the wall, taking second place with a time of 4:40.56. Jacobsen finished in fourth after a time of 4:45.18.

100 Fly: Ayhan clocked a personal-best 52.29 in a fifth-place effort, while Kelley was one place behind in the sixth position (52.30).

400 IM: Babcock won his first individual race of the season after posting a time of 3:59.92. McEldrew (4:07.45), Olson (4:08.20) and Matthew DeBlasio (4:10.23) rounded out the top-five for the Fighting Irish.

400 Free Relay: The Notre Dame entry of Buerger, Stephens, Johnson and Hughes brought home gold with a team time of 3:07.89.

1M Diving: Nick Nemetz registered a score of 321.90 points to claim first place in the event, with Michael Kreft placing second after logging 310.20 points. Ryan Koter finished in third place (274.02).

3M Diving: Kreft swept the diving titles in Notre Dame’s favor after scoring 291.37 points. Koter was the runner-up (286.87) with Nemetz closing his meet in third place (284.85).