Joanna Mulvey and the Notre Dame varsity eight picked up a race victory during the NCAA Championship C/D semifinal round Saturday

Irish Confront Elements On Day Two Of NCAA Championship

June 1, 2013

NCAA Championship Day 2 Get Acrobat Reader

INDIANAPOLIS – The University of Notre Dame rowing team battled adverse weather conditions Saturday for the second consecutive competitive round of racing, advancing two boats to the petite finals of the 2013 NCAA Championship at Eagle Creek Park.

“I thought we raced pretty hard against the fastest crews in the country,” Notre Dame head coach Martin Stone said. “I thought the (varsity) four did a great job in tight racing. The two v (second varsity eight) did not really get a great start and got caught up a couple times into the headwind, and did not find a great rhythm. The one v (varsity eight) did what they had to do and advanced to the third-level final in very trying conditions.”

The Irish second varsity eight launch checked in with a sixth-place finish in the first A/B semifinal of the day, narrowly missing out on a berth to the grand final championship race. Coxswain Christina Dines, Paige Aiello, Teresa Blumenstein, Ingrid Woelfel, Carlee Beckler, Rose Doerfler, Kelsey Haddad, Kelsey Sekanick and Teresa Rubinger crossed the finish line in 7:11.729. Notre Dame will compete in Sunday’s petite finals, where final places seven through 12 will be decided.

In one of the varsity four A/B semifinals, the Irish closed strong over the final 500 meters, nearly cracking to the top three to earn grand final entry. Coxswain Danni Schneider, Kelsey Murphy, Ellen Gleadow, Stella Willoughby and Kiersten DeHaven logged a team time of 7:55.390 to claim fifth. The Notre Dame varsity four crew will also compete in Sunday’s petite final race.

Notre Dame’s varsity eight opened a comfortable early lead during the C/D semifinal, cruising to victory by more than five seconds over runner-up Cornell. The Irish launch of Abby Meyers, Joanna Poinsatte, Stephanie O’Neill, Joanna Mulvey, Courtney Gaberino, Erin Boxberger, Ailish Sheehan, Anna Kottkamp and Molly Bruggeman posted a winning time of 7:37.292 to defeat the Big Red (7:43.743). Boston University (7:47.418), Navy (7:51.091) and Gonzaga (7:53.225) rounded out the race field.

The third and final day of the NCAA Championship is scheduled to begin Sunday at 8 a.m. (ET) on the lake at Eagle Creek Park.