Cameron Miller assisted the 200 medley relay to a new school record.

Irish Cap Weekend With 178-120 Win At Michigan State

Oct. 27, 2012

Complete Results

Final Results Get Acrobat Reader

EAST LANSING, Mich. – The University of Notre Dame men’s swimming and diving team won its second dual meet of the weekend Saturday, downing Michigan State University 178-120 at the McCaffree Pool.

All-American Frank Dyer was a double-winner for the second straight contest, claiming gold in the 100 (46.12) and 200 free (1:38.48). Dyer also took runner-up honors in the 100 fly after swimming the race in 50.78.

Cameron Miller swept both the 100 (56.57) and 200 breast (2:05.95) for his first individual multi-win meet of the season. Miller was the second Notre Dame swimmer in the water for the victorious 200 medley relay team.

Nick Nemetz won both the 1- and 3-meter diving titles, and has now claimed gold in three of the four events he has entered in dual competition. Nemetz earned 328.65 points off the 1-meter board, and set a personal-best with a score of 358.65 in the 3-meter event for the meet sweep.

Notre Dame returns to the water Nov. 2 at 5 p.m. when it hosts Purdue inside the Rolfs Aquatic Center.


200 Medley Relay: The Notre Dame team of Miller, Bertie Nel, Bill Bass and John McGinley claimed first place with a time of 1:32.73. Matt Buerger, Christopher Johnson, Broderick Kelley and Zachary Stephens finished in third after logging a 1:33.72.

1,000 Free: Colin Babcock swam the event in 9:42.21 for his first win in the 1,000 Free this season. Alex Robinson took home third-place honors with a time of 9:55.19.

200 Free: Bass finished as the race runner-up behind Dyer with a time of 1:42.02. Kevin Hughes (1:44.04) came in fifth place.

100 Back: Nel was edged out by Michigan State’s Jacob Jarzen for the race win, and took second place with a time of 50.09. Buerger (51.62) and Bogac Ayhan (51.65) finished in fourth and fifth place, respectively.

100 Breast: Johnson touched the wall over a full second behind Miller (57.67) in a runner-up effort. Andrew Jensen clocked in with time of 1:01.27 for fifth.

200 Fly: John Williamson led the Fighting Irish with a second-place time of 1:49.61. Jordan Berry swam the race in 1:56.35 for fifth place.

50 Free: Stephens set a personal-best time of 20.78 in the event to take the gold. McGinley finished in second place (21.23).

100 Free: McGinley enjoyed another steady freestyle run, touching in at 46.55 for second-place honors behind Dyer. Stephens finished in fourth with a time of 46.77.

200 Back: Nel earned his second silver in a back event on the day, logging a time of 1:51.51. Matthew DeBlasio clocked in at 1:55.29 for fourth place.

200 Breast: Babcock (third place, 2:07.01) and Patrick Olson (fourth place, 2:09.22), along with the victorious Miller, gave Notre Dame three finishers in the top-five.

500 Free: James McEldrew won gold after swimming the event in 4:40.85. Shane McKenzie (4:48.35) and Williamson (4:50.83) finished in fourth and fifth place, respectively.

100 Fly: Berry earned fifth place after posting a time of 52.55 to join runner-up Dyer in the top-five.

200 IM: Bass was the race winner with a time of 1:51.54. Babcock logged a fourth-place finish with a time of 1:55.41.

400 Free Relay: The Fighting Irish foursome of Kelley, DeBlasio, Michael Scheid and Joe Casino finished in second place with a total time of 3:15.48.

1M Dive: Notre Dame claimed the top four spots in the event, with Michael Kreft (314.09), Ryan Koter (275.85) and Ted Wagner (257.84) placing in order behind Nemetz.

3M Dive: Nemetz, Kreft (338.48), Koter (301.95) and Wagner (280.50) were the top-four divers.