Notre Dame Fighting Irish - Official Athletics Website

Irish Cap Season With Banquet

April 5, 2000

NOTRE DAME, Ind. – Tuesday night’s banquet proved no different for sophomore forward Troy Murphy.

He walked away with more awards after the Notre Dame men’s basketball banquet. Murphy took away the Monogram Club Most Valuable Player Award. The forward also won the Monty Williams Inspirational Player Award.

Murphy also walked away with the Moose Krause Captains Award for helping lead the team in the 1999-2000 season. The forward also won the award for blocked shots. He finished the season with 38 blocked shots, which is the best for the team. Murphy has blocked 76 shots in his two seasons, which registers at the fifth best in Irish history.

The sophomore earned the Tom Hawkins Rebounding Award. It is no surprise that Murphy led the team, averaging 10.3 per game. He also won the Pat Garrity Best Screener Award.

Murphy can add numerous national and Big East awards to the ones he earned at the Notre Dame Basketball Banquet. The sophomore forward earned consensus All-American honors. He also won Big East Player of the Year honors. The sophomore finished the season ranked first in the Big East in scoring and rebounding.

Seniors Jimmy Dillon, Skylard Owens and sophomore Harold Swanagan were the only other players to earn more than one award. Dillon earned the Austin Carr Outstanding Senior Award. The senior started every game of his senior year after starting only two games in the previous three years. Dillon also won the David Rivers Assist Award. The point guard finished the season with 214 assists, tying the single-season assist record.

Owens won an award for being one of this year’s captains. The senior also won the St. Joseph Valley Rockne Student-Athlete Award. He finished the fall semester with a grade point average of 3.4 in the College of Business.

Swanagan won the John Shumate Field Goal Percentage Award. He finished the season with 54.2 percentage. Swanagan also won the Bill Laimbeer Award for drawn charges.

The Notre Dame coaches honored freshman Ivan Kartelo with the Bill Hanzlik Defensive Award. It recognizes the player who makes tremendous contributions on the other side of the ball.

The surprise award winner of the evening was Ryan Humphrey. The players voted him the winner of the Gary Brokaw contributions award which recognizes the single player who dedicated the most time and effort in practice. Humphrey practiced every day with the squad but could not suit up for a game this season. The forward could not play because he transferred in from Oklahoma.

Junior Martin Ingelsby missed only two foul shots the entire season and he earned the Adrian Dantley Free-Throw Percentage Award. Ingelsby sank 24-of-26 attempts for a 92.3 percent average.

Freshman Matt Carroll earned the Kelly Tripucka Freshman Award. The guard started 30 games this season and averaged 9.8 points per game.

Sophomore David Graves set the single season record for most three-pointers with 83. His scoring display earned him the John Paxson Three-Point Shooting Award. Graves stands second on the career list for threes with 118.

Senior Todd Palmer also won the Moose Krause Captains Award. He along with Owens and Murphy served as captains for Notre Dame this season.

Despite the talk of how great the season turned out to be, fans wanted to hear whether Murphy has chosen between another year at Notre Dame or to go pro.

The sophomore remained tight-lipped about the situation.