Aijah Urssery qualified for two individual events at next weekend's NCAA East Prelims.

Irish Blue And Gold Scattered Throughout NCAA East Prelims

May 17, 2012

NCAA Nationals StructureGet Acrobat Reader

NOTRE DAME, Ind. – Fifteen women and 14 men from the Notre Dame track and field squads have qualified for the NCAA East Preliminary Round next weekend in Jacksonville, Fla., the NCAA announced on Thursday.

On the women’s side, 14 women qualified for 10 individual events, while Aijah Urssery qualified for the 100 and 200m dashes. In addition to the individuals, the 4×100 and 4x400m relay squads also qualified.

The men qualified 12 individuals in nine events, while the 4x400m relay team also earned a bid.

Individuals on the women’s team that qualified in the top 15 in their event include Jessica Rydberg (10,000m), Rachel Velarde (10,000m), Gabby Gonzales (10,000m), Jade Barber (100mH), Kaila Barber (400mH), Megan Yanik (400mH) and the 4x100m relay team of K. Barber, J. Barber, Michelle Brown and Urssery.

Chris Giesting (400m), Jeremy Rae (1,500m), Martin Grady (10,000m), Kevin Schipper (Pole Vault) and the 4x400m relay team of Brendan Dougherty, Feeney, Mitchell Lorenz and Giesting all qualified in the top 15 in their events.

“We are absolutely thrilled with how many qualifiers we have for the East Prelims,” said head coach Joe Piane. “I believe it is the most we have ever had qualify in one year. We are looking forward to seeing how many can advance to Iowa and the NCAA Outdoor Championships.”

For an individual to qualify for nationals, they would have to be near the top of their heat or one of the next fastest times. Twelve total competitors from each event will advance to the NCAA Outdoor Championships, which are scheduled for June 6-9, 2012 in Des Moines, Iowa.

Aijah Urssery – 100m (28th/48 – 11.55)
Aijah Urssery – 200m (45th/48 – 23.90)
Rebecca Tracy – 1,500m (20th/48 – 4:19.39)
Alexa Aragon – 1,500m (24th/48 – 4:20.18)
Kelly Curran – 1,500m (34th/48 – 4:22.64)
McKinzie Schulz – 3,000m Steeplechase (38th/48 – 10:28.56)
Jessica Rydberg – 10,000m (9th/48 – 33:47.07)
Rachel Velarde – 10,000m (12th/48 – 33:53.83)
Gabby Gonzales – 10,000m (15th/48 – 33:56.86)
Jade Barber – 100m Hurdles (14th/48 – 13.34)
Kaila Barber – 400m Hurdles (15th/48 – 58.46)
Megan Yanik – 400m Hurdles (15th/48 – 59.15)
4x100m Relay (14th/24 – 45.17) – K. Barber, J. Barber, M. Brown, A. Urssery
4x400m Relay (17th/24 – 3:37.79) – J. Barber, M. Brown, M. Yanik, K. Barber
Maddie Buttinger – High Jump (31st/48 – 1.76m)
Kelly Burke – Pole Vault (47th/48 – 3.85m)
Emily Morris – Shot Put (48th/48 – 14.71m)

George Atkinson III – 100m (27th/48 – 10.36)
Josh Atkinson – 100m (35th/48 – 10.39)
Chris Giesting – 400m (14th/48 – 46.03)
Patrick Feeney – 400m (24th/48 – 46.57)
Jeremy Rae – 1,500m (5th/48 – 3:40.93)
Johnathan Shawel – 1,500m (40th/48 – 3:45.65)
Jordan Carlson – 3,000m Steeplechase (35th/48 – 9:00.57)
Martin Grady – 10,000m (14th/48 – 29:21.87)
4x400m Relay (11th/24 – 3:07.51) – B. Doherty, P. Feeney, M. Lorenz, C. Giesting
Kevin Schipper – Pole Vault (7th/48 – 5.40m)
Andrew Brock – Shot Put (37th/48 – 17.33m)
Anthony Thomas – Discus (33rd/48 – 53.00m)
Andrew Hills – Hammer Throw (47th/48 – 58.05m)