Notre Dame will host the NCAA first and second rounds for the third time in four years.

Irish Blank DePaul, 7-0

April 11, 2008

Complete Results

NOTRE DAME, Ind. – The University of Notre Dame women’s tennis team bounced back from Wednesday’s near upset of Northwestern on Friday evening at the Eck Tennis Center as they shut down DePaul, 7-0, and improved to 17-7 on the year.

Brook Buck (33-6) and Kelsey Teft (35-5), the No. 1 doubles team in the country, were clearly on top of their game as they quickly jumped out to a 4-0 lead on DePaul’s leading doubles team of Beatrix Csordas and Selma Slakovic and never looked back. The duo captured an 8-4 victory. Kali Krisik (25-11) and Kristen Rafael (16-11) also posted an impressive win as they shut down the No. 3 Blue Demon’s doubles team of Gergana Ganeva and Katarina Milinkovic, 8-2, to secure the first point of the match for the Irish.

The determined play displayed in the doubles portion carried over into the singles matches as Kelsey Teft (23-7) took it to her opponent, Dunja Antunovic, in straight sets (6-2, 6-3). DePaul’s Gergana Ganeva could not overcome Brook Buck’s aggressive style of play as Brook secured her 15th win of the season in straight sets (6-2, 6-2). Sophomore Cosmina Ciobanu continued her hot streak as she dominated all aspects of her match against Selma Salkovic and posted an impressive 6-3, 6-0 win to improve to 23-15 on the year. Colleen Rielly, also a sophomore, kept up the trend by dominating her match against Katarina Milinkovic, winning in straight sets (6-3, 6-3). Katie Potts (19-8) had a strong outing as she won her match against Kirsten Gambrell in straight sets (6-2, 6-1).

In the final match Kali Krisik started off slow against Beatrix Csordas, dropping the first set 1-6, but quickly regained her composure to win the second and third sets by respective scores of 6-3, 10-5 to secure the sweep.

The 16th ranked Irish will host Marquette on Sunday morning at 10 a.m. (ET) in their final match of the season before heading to the Big East Tournament on Thursday (April 17th) in Tampa, Fla.