Three-time All-American Molly Bruggeman ('14) will race for the United States in the 2015 Pan American Games July 10-26 in Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Irish Alumna Bruggeman Qualifies For Pan Am Games

May 22, 2015

NOTRE DAME, Ind. — Another rowing accomplishment can be added to the growing list of accolades on the résumé of University of Notre Dame three-time All-American rower Molly Bruggeman (’14). Bruggeman posted a victorious time in the women’s pair during Pan American Games Trials earlier this week on Mercer Lake in West Windsor, New Jersey.

With the race victory, Bruggeman officially qualified for the 2015 Pan American Games, which will be held July 10-26 in Toronto, Ontario, Canada.

Racing alongside boat mate Emily Huelskamp and representing USTC — Princeton, Bruggeman’s coxless pair entry crossed the finish line in 7:13.26 to earn a Pan American Games bid. The event runner-up also had a Notre Dame connection, as two-time Irish All-American Erin Boxberger and crew mate Claire Tolson finished second with a time of 7:14.64 while also representing USTC — Princeton.

“The water was really rough,” Bruggeman told following the victory. “We caught a lot of bobbles. There was a little middle section where we picked up speed and got our rhythm, but it was hard to hold. We were just trying to get our oars in and push as hard as we could when we did.”

Bruggeman has been a member of the United States Under 23 National Team since 2012, winning a pair of gold medals in the four and eight races at the 2014 World Rowing Under 23 Championships on the international level. She has raced in each World Rowing Under 23 Championship dating back to 2012.

Along with becoming just the second three-time Collegiate Rowing Coaches Association (CRCA) All-American in Notre Dame history (Amanda Polk, four-time All-American, 2005-08) over her final three seasons, Bruggeman raced in three separate NCAA Championship regattas (2012-14). Notre Dame’s varsity eight placed ninth at the 2014 NCAA Championship, leading the Irish to a program-best tying ninth place team finish as regatta host at Eagle Creek Park in Indianapolis.