Lindsey Ferguson and the women's DMR set an NCAA provisional qualifying standard at the Meyo Invitational.

Irish Add NCAA Qualifiers on Day One of Meyo Invitational

Feb. 5, 2010

Photo Gallery media-icon-photogallery.gif

NOTRE DAME, Ind. – The Irish track and field teams started off the Meyo Invitational on the right foot, adding the women’s distance medley relay to the list of NCAA provisional qualifiers. The women’s DMR team finished third with a time of 11:24.87 to qualify for the national meet.

The Meyo Invitational continues Saturday with events getting underway at 9:00 a.m.

Women’s 300m: Windsor’s Noelle Montcalm was the top finisher with a time of 38.85. Illinois’ Melissa Bates was second at 39.09, followed by Loyola’s Devin Gosberry in third with a time of 39.14. Sasha Blanchard finished 39th in 41.87.

Men’s 300m: Illinois’ Bai Kabba finished first with a time of 34.41, followed by Wisconsin’s Kyle Jefferson in second at 34.51 and Indiana’s Chris Vaughn in third at 34.78. Missouri’s Clifton Leake was fourth in 34.81 and Purdue’s Josh Lee finished fifth with a time of 34.84.

Women’s 500m: UTTC’s Kate Ruediger was the top finisher with a time of 1:14.02, followed by Purdue’s Rachel Stalzer in second at 1:14.22 and Eastern Michigan’s Shade St. Louis in third with a tiem of 1:14.53. Natalie Johnson finished fourth in 1:14.57, Allison Schroeder was 10th at 1:51.93 and Angela Ryck finished 20th at 1:18.51.

Men’s 500m: Ohio State’s Marvel Brooks was the top finisher with a time of 1:02.87, followed by Missouri’s Ryan Blackwell in second at 1:03.28 and the Buckeyes’ Elon Simms in third at 1:03.46. Edward Hitchler was seventh in 1:03.96, Jack Howard finished ninth in 1:04.12 and Cameron Eckert was 11th at 1:04.35.Matthew Brown finished 14th in 1:04.92, Alex Korenstra finished 17th with a time of 1:05.59 and Zac Suriano was 20th in 1:06.12.

Women’s 1000m: Rebecca Tracy was the top finisher with a time of 2:50.72, followed by Guelph’s Nadine Frost was second at 2:51.89 and Michigan State’s Leah Elenbaas finished third in 2:52.07. Abby Higgins was 18th with a time of 2:57.00, and Gena Bleyer was 40th in 3:10.47.

Men’s 1000m: Wisconsin’s Zach Beth was the top runner with a time of 2:22.39, followed by Ohio State’s Cory Leslie in second at 2:22.48 and Johnathan Shawel in third with a time of 2:22.76. Daniel Clark finished eighth in 2:25.54, Kevin Labus was ninth in 2:26.32, Blake Choplin finished 11th in 2:27.22, Jim Notwell was 19th in 2:29.24 and J.P. Mallette was 29th in 2:32.26.

Women’s 5000m: Indiana’s Sarah Pease won the event with a time of 16:35.75, followed by Rachel Patterson in second at 16:40.13 and Illinois’ Kristin Sutherland in third at 16:43.68. Beth Tacl finished ninth with a time of 17:03.72, Jessica Rydberg finished 11th in 17:21.06 and Erica Watson was 16th in 17:51.76.

Men’s 5000m: Louisville’s Matt Bruce was the top finisher with a time of 14:03.36, followed by Barnabas Kirui, of Ole Miss, in second at 14:09.95 and Jake Walker in third with a time of 14:11.86. Ohio State’s Patrick Sovacool was fourth in 14:13.40, while Dan Jackson finished fifth with a time of 14:13.77.

Women’s Distance Medley Relay: Minnesota clocked in at 11:15.70 to take the top spot, followed by Indiana in second at 11:17.06 and Notre Dame in third at 11:24.87. All three set NCAA provisional qualifying marks. Kent State finished fourth at 11:43.38, Alabama was fifth in 11:44.64 and UAB finished sixth at 11:56.27. Indiana State finished seventh with a time of 12:04.13, Eastern Illlinois was eighth at 12:10.98 and Southern Miss finished ninth in 12:52.47.

Men’s Distance Medley Relay: Indiana State was the top team with a time of 9:59.57. Kent State finished second at 10:01.51, Eastern Illinois was third at 10:04.98 and Ole Miss was fourth in 10:16.22.

Women’s Long Jump: Tabia Charles, competing unattached, was the top jumper with a mark of 6.48m (21-3 1/4), followed by Purdue’s Leah Eber in second at 6.11m (20-0 1/2) and Southern Miss’s Tori Bowie in third with a mark of 6.10m (20-0 1/4). Jasmine Williams finished 40th with a jump of 5.32m (17-5 1/2), Jaime Minor was 42nd in 5.24m (17-2 1/4) and Lauren Leniart was 52nd at 5.00m (16-5).

Women’s Weight Throw: Louisville’s D’Ana McCarty was the top thrower with a mark of 22.36m (73-4 1/2), followed by teammate Jere’ Summers in second at 21.48m (70-5 3/4) and Anna Weber, competing unattached, was third in 19.46m (63-10 1/4). Mason Bashaw finished 34th at 14.55m (47-9) and Madeline Casanova was 36th with a mark of 14.22m (46-8).