Jan. 8, 2008

Notre Dame nose tackle Ian Williams (Altamonte Springs, Fla./Lyman) was named to the 2007 AON Insurance Freshman All-America Team, the Football Writers Association of America announced Jan. 7 during the association’s annual awards breakfast.

Williams finished his first season with 45 tackles, including 19 solo stops and 1.5 tackles for loss. He played in all 12 contests and started the final two games of the season for the Irish. Despite playing primarily as a reserve for much of the year, Williams ranked sixth on the team in tackles and was the only player ranked in the top-12 in tackles on the team who did not start at least four games.

He was one of six true freshmen named to the defensive unit on the FWAA Freshman All-America Team and was one of 13 of the 28 freshman All-America selections who was a true freshman this season.

Williams was named to the CollegeFootballNews.com all-freshman third team and was an honorable mention member of The Sporting News all-freshman team.

The FWAA Freshman All-America Team and First-Year Coach of the Year Award were selected by a group of writers led by FWAA vice-president Mike Griffith of the Knoxville News-Sentinel. Both true freshmen and redshirt freshmen were considered for the team.

The 2007 AON Insurance FWAA Freshman All-America Team:

Pos. Player, School
QB Sam Bradford, Oklahoma
RB Knowshon Moreno, Georgia
RB o LeSean McCoy, Pittsburgh
RB Harvey Unga, BYU
WR Michael Crabtree, Texas Tech
WR Jeremy Maclin, Missouri
TE James Casey, Rice
OL o Anthony Castonzo, Boston College
OL o Anthony Davis, Rutgers
OL o Rodney Hudson, Florida State
OL o Matt Murphy, UNLV
C Ryan McMahon, Florida State
Pos. Player, School
DL o Everson Griffen, USC
DL Greg Romeus, Pittsburgh
DL o Ian Williams, Notre Dame
DL Colby Whitlock, Texas Tech
LB o Greg Jones, Michigan State
LB Scott Lutrus, Connecticut
LB o Rolando McClain, Alabama
DB o Eric Berry, Tennessee
DB o Omar Bolden, Arizona State
DB Alex Kube, Northern Illinois
DB Tavious Polo, Florida Atlantic
DB Deunta Williams, North Carolina
Special Teams
Pos. Player, School
P Keenyn Crier, Arizona
K Thomas Weber, Arizona State
KR o Max Suter, Syracuse
ATH o Antonio Brown, Central Michigan
First-year Coach of the Year: Jeff Jagodzinski, Boston College

o Indicates true freshmen