Senior captain Erik Condra capped his 2008-09 season by being named second team AHCA/Reebok All-American.

Ian Cole Named ACHA/Reebok First Team All-American

April 10, 2009

Washington, D.C. – Two members of the Notre Dame hockey team were honored on Friday evening at the Frozen Four as the American Hockey Coaches Association and Reebok announced college hockey’s All-America teams.

Selected to the West All-American first team was sophomore defenseman Ian Cole (Ann Arbor, Mich.) while teammate, Erik Condra (Sr., Livonia, Mich.) was a second team selection. Cole and Condra were among seven players from the CCHA selected to the 12-man West team.

Cole becomes the first Notre Dame player selected first team All-American since David Brown `07 was a first team selection following the 2006-07 season. Cole and Condra being selected marks the third time in the program’s 41-year history the Irish have had two players selected All-American.

The duo join Eddie Bumbacco’74 and Bill Nyrop `74 who were selected following the 1972-73 season and Jack Brownschidle `77 and Brian Walsh `77 who were selected following the 1976-77 season.

For Cole, this caps an outstanding second season for the 6-1, 216-pound blueliner, as he also was a first team all-CCHA selection as he led all Notre Dame defensemen in scoring with six goals and 20 assists for 26 points. Three of the goals came on the power play and two were game winners. The 2007 first round pick of the St. Louis Blues led the Irish with a +15 rating and he was named to the CCHA’s all-tournament team as Notre Dame won its second CCHA regular season and postseason title in the last three years.

The 20-year old defenseman also was named to the Inside College and College Hockey All-America teams prior to the Frozen Four.

Joining Cole as a second team selection is Condra who served as the team captain in 2008-09. For the fourth season in a row, Condra led Notre Dame in scoring, this year scoring 13 goals with 25 assists for 38 points. Five of his goals came on the power play with two short-handed markers and a pair of game winners. A second team all-CCHA selection, Condra also was a finalist for the CCHA’s top defensive forward award. A finalist for the Lowe’s Senior CLASS award along with teammate Jordan Pearce (Sr., Anchorage, Alaska), he was the winner of the Terry Flanagan Memorial Award for perseverance, dedication and courage as he overcame a serious knee injury suffered last season to return in time to start the season this year.

Condra, a 2006 Ottawa Senators draft choice, finishes his career ranked 13th on the all-time points list with 158 points on 48 goals and 110 assists. His 110 assists are the seventh most in the program’s history as he is just one of 10 Notre Dame players all-time to have 100 or more assists. He also finishes his career third all-time in games played (159), fifth in game winning goals (11) and tied for fourth with six short-handed goals.

Boston University led the way with three players selected to the team, including two first teamers on the East squad. Michigan joined the Irish with two players selected while Miami, Northern Michigan and Alaska from the CCHA had two players selected to the team.

The AHCA/Reebok All-American Ice Hockey Teams are sponsored by Reebok, an international leader in hockey equipment, and chosen by members of the American Hockey Coaches Association.

First TeamEast                                           WestBrad Thiessen, Jr., Northeastern         G     Alex Stalock, Jr., Minnesota-Duluth(Aldergrove, B.C.)                             (South St. Paul, Minn.)Matt Gilroy, Sr., Boston University *#   D     Ian Cole, So., Notre Dame(North Bellmore, N.Y.)                         (Ann Arbor, Mich.)Zach Miskovic, Sr., St. Lawrence         D     Jamie McBaine, Jr., Wisconsin(River Forest, Ill.)                           (Faribault, Minn.David McIntyre, Jr., Colgate             F     Louie Caporusso, So., Michigan(Pefferlaw, Ont.)                              (Woodbridge, Ont.)Victor Stalberg, Jr., Vermont            F     Aaron Palushaj, So., Michigan(Gothenburg, Sweden)                           (Northville, Mich.)Colin Wilson, So., Boston University     F     Ryan Stoa, Jr., Minnesota(Winnipeg, Man.)                               (Bloomington, Minn.)
Second TeamEast WestZane Kalemba, Jr., Princeton G Chad Johnson, Sr., Alaska(Saddle Brook, NJ) (Calgary, Alb.)Maury Edwards, So., UMass-Lowell D Chay Genoway, Jr., North Dakota(Rocky Rapids, Alb.) (Morden, Man.)Kevin Shattenkirk, So., Boston Univ. D Erik Gustafsson, So., No. Michigan(New Rochelle, N.Y.) (Kvisselby, Sweden)Mark Arcobello, Jr., Yale F Carter Camper, So., Miami(Milford, Conn.) (Rocky River, Ohio)Jacques Lamoureux, So., Air Force F Erik Condra, Sr., Notre Dame(Grand Forks, N.D.) (Livonia, Mich.)James Marcou, So., Massachusetta F Chad Rau, Sr., Colorado College@ (King Park, N.Y.) (Eden Prairie, Minn.)
* First Team in 2007-2008; @ Second Team in 2007-2008; #Second Team in 2006-2007