Notre Dame Fighting Irish - Official Athletics Website

Ian Book Named To Davey O’Brien Award Watch List

NOTRE DAME, Ind. — University of Notre Dame senior quarterback Ian Book was selected to the 2019 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award Watch List. 

The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award is presented annually to the nation’s best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award.

Book, a 2018 O’Brien Award semifinalist, took the starting reigns in the fourth game of the 2018 season. He helped the Irish rip off eight consecutive victories, complete an undefeated regular season and a berth into the College Football Playoff semifinals (Cotton Bowl). Book finished the season completing 68.2 percent (214 of 314) of his passes with 19 touchdowns and 2,628 yards. He also rushed 95 times for 280 yards and four touchdowns. He ranked eighth and 17th, respectively, in FBS completion percentage and pass efficiency. Book became the first FBS signal-caller to win his first five starts of a season with a completion percentage over 70 percent in each game since Russell Wilson at Wisconsin in 2011. 

Sixteen semifinalists for the award will be named on Wednesday, Nov. 13. From that list, the The Davey O’Brien Foundation will announce the three finalists on Monday, Nov. 25. The 2019 Davey O’Brien Award winner will be unveiled live on ESPN Thursday, Dec. 12, during The Home Depot College Football Awards.

The 2019 season marks the 13th year that fans will be invited to participate in the voting process on Results from the Davey O’Brien fan vote will be combined with the ballots from the selection committee.

The 43rd Annual Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner will be held Monday, Feb. 17, 2020, in Fort Worth, Texas.


About the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award

The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award is presented annually to the nation’s best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. The Davey O’Brien Award honors candidates who exemplify Davey O’Brien’s enduring character while exhibiting teamwork, sportsmanship and leadership in both academics and athletics. Headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas, the Davey O’Brien Foundation has awarded more than $1 million in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit

Previous Davey O’Brien Award winners include: Jim McMahon (BYU, 1981), Todd Blackledge (Penn State, 1982), Steve Young (BYU, 1983), Doug Flutie (Boston College, 1984), Chuck Long (Iowa, 1985), Vinny Testaverde (Miami, 1986), Don McPherson (Syracuse, 1987), Troy Aikman (UCLA, 1988), Andre Ware (Houston, 1989), Ty Detmer (BYU, 1990-91), Gino Torretta (Miami, 1992), Charlie Ward (Florida State, 1993), Kerry Collins (Penn State, 1994), Danny Wuerffel (Florida, 1995-96), Peyton Manning (Tennessee, 1997), Michael Bishop (Kansas State, 1998), Joe Hamilton (Georgia Tech, 1999), Chris Weinke (Florida State, 2000), Eric Crouch (Nebraska, 2001), Brad Banks (Iowa, 2002), Jason White (Oklahoma, 2003-04), Vince Young (Texas, 2005), Troy Smith (Ohio State, 2006), Tim Tebow (Florida, 2007), Sam Bradford (Oklahoma, 2008), Colt McCoy (Texas, 2009), Cam Newton (Auburn, 2010), Robert Griffin III (Baylor, 2011), Johnny Manziel (Texas A&M, 2012), Jameis Winston (Florida State, 2013), Marcus Mariota (Oregon, 2014), Deshaun Watson (Clemson, 2015-16), Baker Mayfield (Oklahoma, 2017) and Kyler Murray (Oklahoma, 2018).

About the National College Football Awards Association

The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which encompasses college football’s most prestigious awards. Founded in 1997, the NCFAA and its 25 awards now boast over 800 recipients, dating to 1935. Visit to learn more about the association.

The members of the NCFAA are unveiling their preseason watch lists over a two-week period this month. Sixteen of the association’s awards select a preseason watch list and the NCFAA has spearheaded a coordinated effort to promote each award’s preseason candidates. Following is the complete 2019 preseason watch list calendar:

Here’s a quick rundown of when specific awards will release watch lists:

Mon., July 15: Bednarik Award (Khalid Kareem, Julian Okwara), Maxwell Award (Ian Book)
Tue., July 16: Davey O’Brien Award (Ian Book)
Wed., July 17: Doak Walker Award
Thur., July 18: Biletnikoff Award
Fri., July 19: Mackey Award, Rimington Trophy
Mon., July 22: Paycom Jim Thorpe Award, Butkus Award
Tue., July 23: Outland Trophy presented by NFID, Bronko Nagurski Trophy
Wed., July 24: Lou Groza Award, Ray Guy Award
Thur., July 25: Paul Hornung Award, Wuerffel Trophy
Fri., July 26: Walter Camp Award

— ND —