Ted Brown is one of seven inductees in the Howard County Sports Hall of Fame this fall.

Howard County Inducts Ted Brown ('07) Into Sports Hall of Fame

Sept. 11, 2015

NOTRE DAME, Ind. – The University of Notre Dame men’s swimming program received word on Friday that former team member and Indiana native Ted Brown Jr. would be inducted into the Howard County Sports Hall of Fame. The Howard County Sports Hall of Fame is a not-for-profit organization that recognizes the best athletes, coaches and contributors who have participated in athletics in Howard County, Indiana.

“Ted Brown was a great teammate, a team captain, and to this day is a friend,” says Irish head coach Matt Tallman. “I am proud of him for all of his accomplishments in and out of the pool. His tremendous work ethic has carried through as a husband, father, and doctor. Congratulations to Ted and his family.”

Brown served as one of three team captains his senior year, and was a four-time BIG EAST All-Academic honoree. He was tabbed as an honorable mention Scholastic All-American by the College Swim Coaches Association of America (CSCAA) his first three seasons with the Irish. Brown graduated from the University in 2007 as a double major in biological sciences and anthropology.


Theodore “Ted” Brown: Two-time IHSAA state champion at Western (class of 2003); won the 200-yard individual medley (1:51.92) and the 500-yard freestyle (4:35.97) as a senior; six-time medalist and IHSAA Mental Attitude Award winner. At Notre Dame, captured 63 career wins and was a four-time Big East All-Academic selection; Irish team captain and MVP his senior season.

James “Al” Fager: Two-time IHSAA state champion at Haworth (class of 1978); won the 200-yard freestyle (state record 1:41.52) and the 500-yard freestyle (4:38.07); state runner-up his junior year in 100 free and 500 free. Also won Indiana AAU titles. Set four Purdue freshman records in 1978-1979 season.

David Granson: Helped organize the first official Haynes Apperson Sports Festival in 1984 (unofficial sporting events occurred in 1983) and served as its director for 25 years through 2008. During its first year, nearly 2,000 participants competed in 19 events. At retirement, the event had grown to 26 events and up to 3,200 competitors.

DeUnna Hendrix: Led Kokomo (class of 2003) to a 26-0 IHSAA state championship season in 2003; scored 1,210 career points and hit double-figures 73 times in 94 career games; Indiana All-Star. A four-year performer for the University of Richmond. Currently the High Point University (NCAA Division I) head women’s coach where she was the 2014 Big South Conference Coach of the Year.

John Kiser: Three-sport star at Northwestern (class of 1970) where he was all-conference in football, track and basketball. On the court, he averaged 29.7 points and 18.7 rebounds per game his senior year; scored 46 points and had 36 rebounds against Maconaquah. Finished with 1,246 points and 1.007 rebounds. Scored first-ever points for South Florida University and finished with 920 career points.

Richard “Dick” Mugg: Led Eastern (class of 1956) to its only IHSAA boys basketball sectional championship in 1956 at Memorial Gym; first member of Howard County 1,000 Point Club with 1,070. Played baseball and basketball at Memphis State University where he had a 2.02 ERA his senior season. Also the 1978 American Bass Fisherman of Indiana champion.

Geoff Shuck: Scored 1,055 points and grabbed 763 rebounds in his career at Haworth (class of 1971); averaged 18 points and 17 rebounds his senior season. Led Haworth to semi-state in junior campaign. In baseball, led Huskies to the Final Four his junior year. Transferred to Indiana State University and was basketball MVP his junior year with 14.8 points and 7.7 rebounds per game.


This will be the 13th class inducted into the Howard County Sports Hall of Fame. The 13thAnnual Induction Banquet is scheduled for October 31, 2015, at the Ivy Tech Kokomo Event & Conference Center. Tickets for the Induction Banquet are available for $25 by calling Vice President Ron Barsh at (765) 453-4739.

The Howard County Sports Hall of Fame was founded in 2003 by charter President Dean Hockney and a group of sports enthusiasts who realized the need to formally recognize the great sports personalities from Howard County. With a charter class consisting of two major league baseball brothers, an Indiana Mr. Basketball, a professional bowler, a legendary record-breaking hoopster and an all-around athletic sensation, the HCSHF launched with a banquet that drew more than 200 fellow sports fans. Now, with 60 inductees, the Hall of Fame – located at the Ivy Tech Kokomo Events & Conference Center – adds six new members each October.

— Lizzie Mikes, Media Services Coordinator