#15 Irish Downed By Badgers, 2-1

NOTRE DAME, Ind. — Cale Morris stopped 35 shots and Dylan Malmquist scored, but the Notre Dame Fighting Irish dropped a 2-1 decision to Wisconsin Friday night at Compton Family Ice Arena (4,611).
Notre Dame (15-11-3, 8-9-2-2 B1G) and Wisconsin (10-14-5, 6-8-5-2 B1G) close out their regular-season series tomorrow (Feb. 16) at 6 p.m. on the same sheet of ice.
“They [Wisconsin] played really well,” Irish head coach Jeff Jackson said. “I didn’t think we started off nearly as fast as we did against Michigan [Tuesday night]. Consistency this time of year is the most important word and we just haven’t been able to find that level of consistency.”
The Badgers opened the scoring on a power-play goal by Linus Weissbach 5:31 into play.
The Irish nearly equalized less than five minutes later when Cam Morrison’s shot on a two-on-one rush was stopped by the pad of a sprawling Daniel Lebedeff.
With 4:08 to go in the first period, Dylan Malmquist put home a rebound to even the score and record his 10th goal of the season.
Cale Morris stopped 15 shots in the opening stanza to keep the score level entering the first intermission.
The two sides traded chances in the middle frame before Roman Ahcan converted with 2:39 remaining in the period to give the Badgers a 2-1 lead.
The Irish had a pair of power plays in the final period and generated numerous quality chances for the entire 20 minutes but could not solve Lebedeff, who finished with 30 saves.
Special Teams
The Badgers finished 1-for-3 on the power play while the Irish were 0-for-2.
Notre Dame Goal Descriptions
1-1 | Dylan Malmquist’s 10th goal of the season evened the score at 15:52 of the first period. After Tory Dello’s initial shot from the top of the right circle was stopped by Lebedeff, Malmquist collected the rebound to the side of the goal mouth and put home the rebound. Mike O’Leary earned the secondary assist on the play.
Up Next
The Fighting Irish and Badgers close out their regular-season series Saturday night (Feb. 16) at the Compton Family Ice Arena. Puck drop is set for 6 p.m. and the game will be televised on the NBC Sports Network. For tickets click here.


  • Cale Morris reached the 30-save threshold for the12th time this season.
  • Dylan Malmquist is now one goal away from tying his career-high (11 goals in 2015-16).
  • Malmquist (2-0-0), Mike O’Leary (0-2-2) and Tory Dello (0-3-3) each have two-game point streaks.

Trio Up For Hobey Vote

  • It was announced on Jan. 16 that forward Cal Burke, goaltender Cale Morris and defenseman Bobby Nardella have each been selected to Phase One of the Hobey Baker Award’s fan ballot (vote at www.hobeybaker.com).
  • Awarded annually to college hockey’s top player, the Hobey Baker award includes candidates exhibiting the exceptional character traits of the award’s namesake, Hobey Baker, with consideration given to scholastic achievement and sportsmanship.  
  • Morris, who was awarded the 2018 Mike Richter Award as college hockey’s top goaltender, was named a Top-10 Finalist for the Hobey Baker Award last season.
  • Morris was the fourth player in Notre Dame history to be among the 10 finalists for the Hobey Baker, joining Anders Bjork (2017), David Brown (2007) and Dave Poulin (1982).
  • Morris, a Larkspur, Colorado native, was also the first player from the Centennial State to play his way into the Hobey Top 10.
  • The Fan Balloting (Phase I) of the Hobey Baker award calendar will continue until March 10.
  • On March 20, the Top 10 Finalists will be announced, at which time Phase II Fan Balloting will begin and run through March 31, 2019.
  • The Hobey Hat Trick Finalist Announcement will be made on April 4.
  • The 2019 Hobey Baker Award winner will be announced from a field of three Hobey Hat Trick finalists on Friday, April 12, 2019 during the NCAA Frozen Four Championship in Buffalo, New York.

— ND —