Luke Harangody has been named BIG EAST Player of the Week on three occasions this season.

Harangody One Of 10 Nominees For Oscar Robertson Trophy

March 10, 2008

Notre Dame, Ind. – The honors are beginning to come in for Notre Dame sophomore Luke Harangody (Schererville, Ind.). The 6-8, 251-pound Irish forward has been named a nominee for the 2007-08 Oscar Robertson Trophy and has been selected by the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) as a first team District 10 honoree.

The trophy is awarded by the United States Basketball Writers Association (USBWA) and is the national’s oldest award and the only one named after a former player. The legendary Oscar Robertson was the USBWA’s first player of the year in 1959. The USBWA renamed its player of the year award the Oscar Robertson Trophy in 1998.

Harangody is one of 10 nominees for the award. The other nine nominees include: D.J. Augustin (Texas), Michael Beasley (Kansas State), Chris Douglas-Roberts (Memphis), Shan Foster (Vanderbilt), Tyler Hansbrough (North Carolina), Robbie Hummel (Purdue), Kevin Love (UCLA), A.J. Price (Connecticut) and D.J. White (Indiana).

Harangody was one of 150 players from 15 districts selected to the NABC District 10 First Team. He is now eligible for the State Farm Division I All-America teams that will be announced on April 5 at the 2008 NABC Convention in San Antonio, Texas.

Joining Harangody on the District 10 first team were White (Indiana), Eric Gordon (Indiana), Brian Roberts (Dayton) and Mike Green (Butler). The District 10 second team featured Jamar Butler (Ohio State), A.J. Graves (Butler), Drew Lavender (Xavier), Tim Pollitz (Miami-Ohio) and Leon Williams (Ohio).

Harangody also was named to the BIG EAST Weekly Honor Roll for the fifth time this season after averaging 20.5 points and 7.5 rebounds while shooting 75.0 percent from the field in wins over St. John’s and South Florida last week.