Luke Harangody was the sixth-leading vote getter for the AP All-America team.

Harangody Named To Associated Press All-America Second Team

March 31, 2008

Notre Dame, Ind. – Irish sophomore forward Luke Harangody (Schererville, Ind.) has been named to the Associated Press All-America second team. He becomes the ninth Irish player named to one of the three AP All-America teams and the first since Troy Murphy in 2001.

The AP first team included Tyler Hansbrough (North Carolina), Michael Beasley (Kansas State), Kevin Love (UCLA), D.J, Augustin (Texas) and Chris Douglas-Roberts (Memphis).

Harangody finished sixth in the voting and was joined on the second team by Shan Foster (Vanderbilt), D.J. White (Indiana), Roy Hibbert (Georgetown) and Stephen Curry (Davidson).

The third team was made of Chris Lofton (Tennessee), Darren Collison (UCLA), Brook Lopez (Stanford), Derrick Rose (Memphis) and Eric Gordon (Indiana).

Harangody, the 2008 BIG EAST Player of the Year and a first team all-conference honoree, has been named to several All-America teams. Harangody led the Irish in scoring and rebounding as he averaged 20.4 points and 10.6 rebounds and became just the second player in BIG EAST history to lead the conference in both of those categories with 23.3 points and 11.3 rebounds.

Harangody scored 672 points during the season — the third most by a Notre Dame sophomore. He scored in double figures in 32 of 33 contests during the 2007-08 campaign, including the final 31 games of the season.

Harangody netted 20-plus points in 18 contests that included three 30-plus point performances and recorded 19 double-doubles. He scored a career-high 40 points in a loss at Louisville on February 28 and grabbed a career-high 22 boards versus Washington State in Notre Dame’s NCAA tournament second-round loss on March 22. The 22 rebounds were the second-most by an Irish player in an NCAA tournament game and the most in an NCAA contest since Tim Duncan grabbed 22 in a first round game in 1997.

Harangody reached the 1,000-point mark this season with 1,031 career points after 65 games for a 15.9 career scoring average.

The eight other Notre Dame players who have earned AP All-America include three-time honoree Kevin O’Shea (1948, 1949 and 1950), Tom Hawkins (1958 and 1959), Austin Carr (1970 and 1971), John Shumate (1974), Adrian Dantley (1975 and 1976), Kelly Tripucka (1979), Pat Garrity (1998) and Troy Murphy (2000 and 2001).

Three players have earned honorable mention recognition — Matt Carroll (2003), Chris Thomas (2003 and 2004) and Chris Quinn (2006).

Harangody also was one of 15 players named to the All-America team.