April 21, 2016

By Joanne Norell

NOTRE DAME, Ind. – A pair of University of Notre Dame women’s tennis student-athletes have been selected to this year’s All-Atlantic Coast Conference teams, the conference announced Thursday during the second round of the ACC Championship set in Cary, North Carolina.

Senior Quinn Gleason was tabbed for the All-ACC Second Team for the second time in as many seasons, while sophomore Brooke Broda earned a nod on the All-ACC Third Team following a solid rookie campaign.

Gleason is 13-10 in dual matches this season atop the Irish singles lineup and ranks at No. 48 in the Oracle/ITA Singles Rankings as of April 19. The Mendon, New York, native boasts five wins over ranked opponents. She was a second team All-ACC honoree as a junior, as well, in addition to her inclusion on the All-BIG EAST Team as a freshman.

Broda was named to her first All-ACC squad after a 19-1 regular-season singles performance, including a 12-1 mark in conference play. Broda currently tops the Irish record books with the best singles dual winning percentage (.955, 21-1) of those who have played a minimum of 20 matches. Her .931 career singles winning percentage (27-2) also tops the Irish all-time list (minimum of 25 matches).

ACC Individual Award Winners
Player of the Year – Hayley Carter, Jr., North Carolina
Freshman of the Year – Ayan Broomfield, Clemson
Coach of the Year – Rodney Harmon, Georgia Tech

All-ACC First Team
Hayley Carter # (North Carolina)
Stephanie Wagner ! (Miami)
Sinead Lohan @ (Miami)
Danielle Collins # (Virginia)
Julia Elbaba ! (Virginia)
Johnnise Renaud @ (Georgia Tech)
Daneika Borthwick ! (Florida State)
Beatrice Capra ! (Duke)
Whitney Kay (North Carolina)

All-ACC Second Team
Ayan Broomfield (Clemson)
Joana Eidukonyte @ (Clemson)
Francesca Fusinato # (Virginia Tech)
Martina Frantova (NC State)
Chalena Scholl (Duke)
Quinn Gleason @ (Notre Dame)
Kaitlyn McCarthy (Duke)
Kimmy Guerin @ (Wake Forest)
Anna Shkudun (Syracuse)

All-ACC Third Team
Samantha Harris @ (Duke)
Jessie Aney (North Carolina)
Asiya Dair @ (Boston College)
Lexi Borr (Boston College)
Brooke Broda (Notre Dame)
Paige Hourigan @ (Georgia Tech)
Elena Cerezo-Codina (Virginia Tech)
Ellyse Hamlin (Duke)
Wendy Zhang (Miami)

@ – Two-time honoree
# – Three-time honoree
! – Four-time honoree

To keep up with all things Irish women’s tennis, be sure to follow @NDWomensTennis on Twitter and like Notre Dame Women’s Tennis on Facebook.


Joanne Norell, athletics communications assistant director at the University of Notre Dame, has been part of the Fighting Irish athletics communications team since 2014 and coordinates communications efforts for the Notre Dame women’s soccer, men’s tennis, women’s tennis and fencing programs. Norell is a 2011 graduate of Purdue University, where she earned a bachelor’s degree in mass communication, and earned her master’s degree in sports industry management from Georgetown University in 2013.