Nov. 3, 2006

Notre Dame senior punter Geoff Price has been selected as a semi-finalist for the Ray Guy Award, which identifies the nation’s top Division I-A collegiate punter. Price is one of ten semi-finalists chosen from a list of 47 punters that were originally nominated. Particular emphasis was on the following categories: net average, percentage of total punts inside the 20-yard line, average return yardage, and percentage not returned.

Price is in the midst of a stellar season despite the fact he entered the season with only two career punts. Price ranks fifth in the NCAA in punting, averaging 45.3 yards per punt and has helped the Irish rank ninth in net punting at 38.7 yards per punt. Price’s current gross average would break Notre Dame’s school record for highest average yards per punt of 44.9 set by Craig Hentrich in 1990. Price has also dropped ten punts inside the 20-yard line and has nine punts of 50 or more yards. His 51.9 yards per punt average on seven punts vs. Michigan set a single-game school record for highest average yards per punt.

A national voting body of Division I-A coaches and sports information directors, national media, and former punters will decide the three award finalists, and ultimately the winner of this year’s award. The winner will be announced live on ESPN during the Home Depot College Football Awards show Dec. 7. The winner will again be honored at the Greater Augusta Sports Award Gala in early 2007.

The following are the 2006 Ray Guy Award Semi-Finalists:

Name, School, Class
Durant Brooks, GA Tech, Junior
Ryan Dougherty, E Carolina, Senior
Sean Douglas, Washington, Senior
Brandon Fields, Michigan State, Senior
Zach Johnson, Eastern Michigan, Freshman
Jeremy Kapinos, Penn State, Senior
Geoff Price, Notre Dame, Junior
Louie Sakoda, Utah, Sophomore
Daniel Sepulveda, Baylor, Senior
Sam Swank, Wake Forest, Sophomore