Seven Returning Champions Highlight Bengal Mission Bouts
Preliminary action for 71st annual event scheduled for February 22.

Feb. 15, 2001

NOTRE DAME, Ind. – Seven returning champions and eight other returning finalists look to make the field of the University of Notre Dame’s 71st Annual Bengal Mission Bouts one of the most competitive ever. These 15 will have to maneuver through a field of 150 boxers to the Bengal finals scheduled for March 2, 2001.

Highlighting the list of returning champs is three-time winner and boxing captain Peter Ryan (senior from Muskegon, Mich.). He looks to enter Bengal record books by becoming just the 10th boxer to win four titles. Ryan is joined by captains Robert Joyce (junior from Erie, Pa.), Matt Fumagalli (junior from Joliet, Ill.) and Mark Criniti (junior from Granger, Ind.) in pursuit of repeat titles.

Other champions defending their titles include Mike Waldo (senior from Garden City, Mich.), fifth year student Jeff Dobosh (Clinton, Pa.), law student Sean Nowak (Erie, Pa.) and Jason McMahon (junior from Las Vegas, Nev.) who won his title two years ago in addition to a sportsman award.

Some of last year’s finalists also are working hard toward their first championships. They include senior captains Josh Thompson (Granger, Ind.), Dennis Abdelnour (St. Clair Springs, Mich.) and Brian Hobbins (Edina, Minn.). Rounding out the list of returning finalists is ex-Harvard lineman and law student Dan Adam (Hale Corners, Wis.) Paul Mehan (junior from Town and Country, Mo.) Kevin Branl (junior from Grayslake, Ill.) and Camilo Rueda (senior from Fairfax, Va.).

This year’s preliminary action can be seen Feb. 22, followed by quarterfinals on Feb. 26, semifinals on Feb. 28, all at 7:30 p.m. EST, and finals on March 2 at 8:30 p.m. EST All competition is at the Joyce Center on the Notre Dame campus. Tickets are available through the Notre Dame Joyce Center ticket office at 219-631-7356.

For more information, contact Josh Thompson at 219-243-1542 or Brian Hobbins at 219-288-4329.