August 18, 1998

ONEONTA, N.Y. – Four Notre Dame women’s soccer players have been named finalists for the 1998 Hermann Trophy, which honors the outstanding male and female collegiate soccer players. The four Irish finalists are junior goalkeeper LaKeysia Beene, junior defender Jen Grubb, junior forward Jenny Streiffer and sophomore midfielder Anne Makinen, a finalist for the award in 1997 as a freshman.

Beene, Grubb, Streiffer and Makinen are looking to become Notre Dame’s second recipient of the Hermann Trophy, joining 1996 winner Cindy Daws. Notre Dame’s four finalists are the most of any school and is matched by only North Carolina, which also has four of the 15 finalists.

A selection board comprised of coaches, media and U.S. national team directors participated in choosing the finalists, who will now be listed on official ballots that will go out to a broader-based group of coaches and media on Oct. 15. A write-in allowance also will be included on final ballots, which will be due Nov. 30. The winners of the 1998 Hermann Trophy will be announced Saturday, Dec. 12, in a ceremony at the Richmond Centre, in conjunction with the NCAA men’s soccer championship.