Sophomore defenseman Ian Cole was selected first team all-CCHA.  He becomes the third Notre Dame player to take first team honors along with David Brown (in 2006-07) and Benoit Cotnoir (1998-99).

Four Irish Hockey Players Selected To All-CCHA Team For The 2008-09 Season

March 11, 2009

Notre Dame, Ind. – Four Notre Dame hockey players have been named to the Central Collegiate Hockey Association’s (CCHA) postseason all-star team for the 2008-09 season.

Leading the way as first team all-CCHA selection is sophomore defenseman Ian Cole (Ann Arbor, Mich.) who received five first-place votes and a total of 36 points for his selection. In 28 CCHA games this season, Cole had five goals and 12 assists for 17 points to rank seventh in scoring among conference defenseman with a pair of power-play goals and two game winners to his credit.

Cole becomes just the third Notre Dame player ever selected as a first team all-CCHA selection as he joins goaltender David Brown `07, who was selected following the 2006-07 season and defenseman Benoit Cotnoir `99 who was an all-CCHA selection following the 1998-99 campaign.

Three Irish players were named to the second team led by forwards Erik Condra (Sr., Livonia, Mich.) and Christian Hanson (Sr., Venetia, Pa.) and defenseman Kyle Lawson (Jr., New Hudson, Mich.).


Senior center Christian Hanson was selected second team all-CCHA for the 2008-09 seasons.



Hanson received three first-place votes and 28 points while Condra had two first-place votes and 28 points. Lawson picked up five first-place votes on defense and had a total of 31 points in the voting.

Hanson had a career season for the Irish and finished seventh in the CCHA scoring race with 14 goals and 14 assists for 28 points in 25 league games. His 14 goals tied for the second-best total in the league. He added five power-play goals, one short-handed tally and four game winners while being +8 on the season.

Condra finished 10th in scoring with 11 goals and 15 assists for 29 points. He had four power-play goals, two short-handed markers and one game winner while being +5 for the year.


Erik Condra was one of four Notre Dame players selected all-CCHA for the 2008-09 campaign.



Lawson was the steadying influence on the Irish blue line and was 10th among CCHA defensemen in scoring. In 28 games, the junior had two goals and 14 assists for 16 points. His two goals came on the power play and one was a game winner. He was +7 in conference play on the year.

Hanson, Condra and Lawson join a list of seven other Notre Dame players to receive second team all-CCHA honors. That list includes: Rob Globke `04, Aaron Gill `04 and Brett Lebda `04, who were chosen for the 2003-04 season, Ben Simon `99, during the 1997-98 season, Kirt Bjork `83, following the 1982-83 season and Dave Poulin `82 and John Schmidt `82, who made the team after the 1981-82 campaign.


Defenseman Kyle Lawson anchors a stingy Notre Dame defense. He was selected a second team all-CCHA choice this season.



A pair of Notre Dame players were named honorable mention all-CCHA – senior goaltender Jordan Pearce (Anchorage, Alaska) and forward Calle Ridderwall (So., Stockholm, Sweden). Pearce received two first-place votes and 22 points, to finish one point behind second team selection Jeff Lerg. Ridderwall received 20 points in the voting.

Pearce led the CCHA with 21 wins, as he was 21-4-3 on the year. His 1.76 goals-against average was just .07 off the mark of first team choice Chad Johnson and his .927 save percentage was second to Johnson. Pearce led the CCHA with five shutouts on the year.

Ridderwall had a breakout season in his second year at Notre Dame. He finished ninth in scoring in the conference with 13 goals and 14 assists for 27 points with his 13 goals the fifth-best total in the league. He led the league in power-play goals (11) and points with 20. His four game winners tied him with Hanson and two others for tops in the league.

The team’s were selected in voting by the league’s coaches and are based on performance in conference games. Coaches were not allowed to vote for their own players.

In all, Notre Dame had four players selected all-CCHA first or second team followed by Michigan with two. Miami, Northern Michigan, Alaska, Western Michigan, Nebraska-Omaha and Michigan State each had one player named to the teams. <>

                    2008-09 CCHA All-Conference Teams
First TeamPosition Name (Yr.) School First Totals
Forward Carter Camper (So.) Miami 9 51Forward Aaron Palushaj (So.) Michigan 8 49Forward Louie Caporusso (So.) Michigan 8 47Defense Erik Gustafsson (So.) No. Michigan 7 40Defense Ian Cole (So.) Notre Dame 5 36Goaltender Chad Johnson (Sr.) Alaska 7 47
Second TeamPosition Name (Yr.) School First TotalsForward Christian Hanson (Sr.) Notre Dame 3 28Forward Erik Condra (Sr.) Notre Dame 2 28Forward Patrick Galivan (Sr.) Western Michigan 4 27Defense Kyle Lawson (Jr.) Notre Dame 5 31Defense Eddie DelGrosso (Jr.) Nebraska-Omaha 3 26Goaltender Jeff Lerg (Sr.) Michigan State 2 23

Vote Values: 1st place = 5, 2nd place = 3, 3rd place = 1

Honorable Mention (next six point totals, regardless of position with first team votes in parentheses): Jordan Pearce, Sr., G, Notre Dame, (2), 22; Dan Sexton, So., F, Bowling Green, (1), 21; Chris Summers, Jr., D, Michigan (3), 20; Calle Ridderwall, So., F, Notre Dame, 20; Chad Langlais, So., D, Michigan, 16; John Albert, So., F, Ohio State, 14.

Others receiving votes:  Forwards — Patt Cannone, So, Miami, 9; Corey Elkins, Sr., Ohio State (1), 7; Dan Charleston, Sr., Nebraska-Omaha, 6; Mark Olver, So., Northern Michigan, 5; Brandon Svendsen, Sr., Bowling Green, 5; Justin Mercier, Sr., Miami, 4; Braden Wells, Sr., Alaska, 1; Max Campbell, So., Western Michigan, 1; Zac Dalpe, Fr., Ohio State, 1. Defense — Kevin Roeder, Sr., Miami (1) 12; Zach Redmond, So., Ferris State, 10; Jeff Petry, So., Michigan State, 8; Tyler Ludwig, Jr., Western Michigan, 6; Matt Bartkowski, Fr., Ohio State, 4; Chris Wideman, Fr., Miami, 4; Steven Kaunisto, Jr., Lake Superior, 3. Goaltenders — Brian Stewart, Jr., Northern Michigan (1), 9; Billy Hogan, So., Michigan, 4; Riley Gill, Jr., Western Michigan, 2; Pat Nagle, So., Ferris State, 1.