Casey Cullen in action during the 2005 Blue-Gold Game.

Four Irish Football Players Earn Scholarships For 2006 Season

Aug. 21, 2006

Senior offensive lineman Dan Chervanick, senior defensive lineman Casey Cullen, senior defensive lineman Travis Leitko and junior long snapper J.J. Jansen have all been awarded scholarships for the 2006-07 school year at Notre Dame. The four players were surprised with their scholarships at a private team meeting conducted at the conclusion of Monday¹s practice, Irish head coach Charlie Weis and his coaching staff announced Monday evening.

Chervanick, who returned as a fifth-year walk-on, was an entire staff decision as he has played on both the defensive and offensive sides of the ball during his career at Notre Dame. Cullen has earned the scholarship for the second consecutive year based on his performance on Notre Dame special teams. Leitko returns to the scholarship list after a year away from the program. Jansen, who took over the long-snapping duties on both punt and field goal at the USC game last year, was the lone junior honored with a scholarship.