Notre Dame Fighting Irish - Official Athletics Website

Four Garner ACC Postgraduate Scholarships

Feb. 28, 2018

NOTRE DAME, Ind. — For the third straight year, four University of Notre Dame student-athletes have earned the Atlantic Coast Conference’s Weaver-James-Corrigan Award, part of the ACC’s postgraduate scholarship program. Football’s Greer Martini and women’s soccer’s Monica Flores and Katie Uhler have been selected as scholarship recipients, while men’s lacrosse senior John Sexton was named an honorary award winner.

The Weaver-James-Corrigan postgraduate scholarships are presented to selected student-athletes who intend to pursue a graduate degree following completion of their undergraduate requirements. Martini, Flores and Uhler will receive $5,000 toward their graduate educations and are honored because of their performances both in the classroom and their respective sport, while demonstrating exemplary contact in the community.

The Weaver-James-Corrigan Honorary Award goes to those student-athletes who plan to pursue professional careers in their chosen sports following graduation.

The four Notre Dame honorees are among 52 ACC student-athletes selected as postgraduate scholarship recipients.

The Weaver-James-Corrigan Award is named in honor of the late Jim Weaver and Bob James, as well as Gene Corrigan, the ACC’s first three commissioners (Corrigan also served as director of athletics at Notre Dame from 1981-87).

With this year’s four Notre Dame honorees, the Irish have produced 19 Weaver-James-Corrigan postgraduate scholarship recipients in five years as a conference member.

Greer Martini

Football – Linebacker – Mendoza College of Business

Martini played in 50 career games and started 17 contests for the Irish. The 2017 captain registered 191 tackles, including 104 solo stops, 14.5 tackles for loss, five sacks, three passes defended and two forced fumbles. Martini, Notre Dame’s 2017 Special Teams Player of the Year and a semifinalist for the 2017 William V. Campbell Trophy, which is awarded annually by the National Football Foundation to the nation’s top scholar-athlete, owns a 3.327 grade-point average as a finance major in the Mendoza College of Business.

Martini also received the Thacker Award, which is presented to a recipient that displays outstanding performance both in athletic competition and in the classroom and intend to further their education through postgraduate studies at an ACC institution.

Monica Flores

Women’s Soccer – Defender – College of Science

Flores appeared in 55 career games in the Irish uniform and totaled 14 points on one goal and 12 assists. During her senior season, Flores played in 19 games in 2017 and recorded seven points in the process.

Katie Uhler

Women’s Soccer – Forward – College of Science

A key cog during her time with the Irish, Uhler had a career season as a senior, scoring two goals, including a penalty kick in Notre Dame’s 4-0 victory over Ball State. Her presence off the field helped solidify her leadership with the team.

John Sexton

Men’s Lacrosse – LSM/Defense – Mendoza College of Business

The Honorary Postgraduate Scholarship is just the latest in a long list of accolades Sexton has earned over his career. The senior is arguably the top long-stick midfielder in the country this season, having earned USILA First Team All-America accolades following his junior season. The Sudbury, Massachusetts, native is a two-time All-ACC selection and a two time ACC All-Academic Team recipient.