Notre Dame Fighting Irish - Official Athletics Website

Fortunato Named Tewaaraton Award Nominee

April 28, 2017

By Megan Golden

NOTRE DAME, Ind. — The Tewaaraton Foundation released its women’s nominees for the Tewaaraton Award, presented by Under Armour, on Friday. University of Notre Dame senior attacker Cortney Fortunato was nominated as one of the top 25 collegiate women’s lacrosse players for the third consecutive season.

Fortunato, who was recently named First Team All-Atlantic Coast Conference, tallied 73 points on 54 goals and 19 assists during the regular season. She also added 28 ground balls and 22 caused turnovers. Fortunato led the Irish to a 4-3 record in ACC regular-season play, matching the program’s best record in the ACC.

The Northport, New York, native recorded five points on three goals and two assists in No. 4 seed Notre Dame’s loss to No. 5 seed Boston College in the ACC Quarterfinals on Thursday at Richmond Sports Backers Stadium. Fortunato’s three goals marked her 42nd career hat trick.

In Notre Dame’s win at Kennesaw State, Fortunato tied Crysti Foote’s Irish record for most points in a road game with 11 (eight goals and three assists).

Fortunato, who was named Preseason First Team All-American by Inside Lacrosse, recorded her 300th career point with a goal at the 13:46 mark of the second half in Notre Dame’s victory over Virginia Tech on April 15. She ranks second all-time in goals (223) and points (308), and she is third in assists (85).

Five ACC players made the top 25, and seven of the nominees faced Notre Dame this season.

The Tewaaraton Award annually recognizes the top male and female lacrosse player. Five women’s finalists will be selected from this group, announced on Thursday, May 11, and invited to the 17th annual Tewaaraton Award Ceremony on Thursday, June 1 in Washington, D.C.

Top 25 Women’s Nominees:
Sam Apuzzo, Boston College – Soph., Attack
Sammi Burgess, Florida – Sr., Attack
Madison Carter, Penn State – Soph., Attack
Alex Condon, Penn – Jr., Midfield
Ellie DeGarmo, Princeton – Sr., Goalie
Riley Donahue, Syracuse – Jr., Attack
Erica Evans, Canisius – Jr., Midfield
Caroline Fitzgerald, Florida – Sr., Defense
Cortney Fortunato, Notre Dame – Sr., Attack
Nadine Hadnagy, Maryland – Sr., Defense
Molly Hendrick, North Carolina – Sr., Attack
Olivia Hompe, Princeton – Sr., Attack
Darby Kiernan, Colorado – Jr., Attack
Steph Lazo, Penn State – Sr., Attack
Sarah Martin, Albany – Sr., Midfield
Marie McCool, North Carolina – Jr., Midfield
Michaela Michael, USC – Sr., Attack
Kylie Ohlmiller, Stony Brook – Jr., Attack
Catie Smith, Cornell – Sr., Defense
Paige Soenksen, Colorado – Sr., Goalie
Mollie Stevens, Florida – Sr., Attack
Zoe Stukenberg, Maryland – Sr., Midfield
Megan Taylor, Maryland – Soph., Goalie
Dorrien Van Dyke, Stony Brook – Sr., Midfield
Megan Whittle, Maryland – Jr., Attack

For a closer, behind-the-scenes look at the Irish women’s lacrosse program, follow @NDWomensLax on Twitter and ndwlax on Snapchat.


Megan Golden, athletics communications assistant director at the University of Notre Dame, has been part of the Fighting Irish athletics communications team since August of 2016. In her role, she coordinates all media efforts for the Notre Dame women’s lacrosse and cross country/track and field programs. A native of Cleveland, Ohio, Golden is a 2014 graduate of Saint Mary’s College and former Irish women’s basketball manager. Prior to arriving at Notre Dame, she worked in public relations with the Cleveland Indians and Chicago White Sox.