D.J. Driscoll was a second-team All-American as a senior with the Irish in 2006.

Former Irish All-American D.J. Driscoll Named To U.S. National Team

Nov. 2, 2009

BALTIMORE, Md. – Former Notre Dame All-America defenseman D.J. Driscoll has been named to the 23-man United States national team roster that will compete in the Federation of International Lacrosse (FIL) World Championship in Manchester, England from July 14-24, 2010.

Driscoll, a 2006 Notre Dame graduate, is currently playing with the Chicago Machine of Major League Lacrosse (MLL). During his senior season with the Fighting Irish, he earned second-team All-America honors from the United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association (USILA). Driscoll was an honorable-mention pick the previous year. He was a three-time All-Great Western Lacrosse League (GWLL) first-team selection and was the GWLL Defensive Player of the Year in 2005.

The Downington, Pennsylvania native captained the Irish during his senior campaign and he spearheaded Notre Dame’s defensive attack, which finished the season ranked 11th in NCAA Division I by allowing just 7.67 goals per game. Driscoll played in 51 career games, including 43 starts, for the Fighting Irish. The Los Angeles Riptide selected Driscoll in the second round (11th overall pick) of the 2006 MLL Draft.

US Lacrosse announced the finalized roster on Monday. The training team roster of 41 was narrowed down to the FIL-mandated size of 23 players after three fall exhibition weekends in West Point, N.Y., Annapolis, Md. and Stony Brook, N.Y.

“I want to congratulate the entire pool of players on their efforts, attitude and stellar play over three tremendous weekends this fall,” said Team USA head coach Mike Pressler. “Without question, this was the best way to go in this thorough and, at times, exhausting process. We feel these 23 men give us the best chance to win the gold at the 2010 world championship in Manchester.”

Pressler added, “I want to thank all 41 players for their professionalism, their attention to detail and their sacrifice. We took these guys away from their families, jobs and children to compete in three additional weekends that have never been done before. Speaking for our coaching staff, we are very grateful to each of them for all their efforts.”

“We are extremely pleased with the selection process,” said Howie Borkan, chair of the US Lacrosse men’s national teams committee. “The tryouts, the fall clinics and games have been well received and have provided the coaching staff with the opportunity to select the best team possible.”

The 2010 U.S. men’s national team includes five members of the 2006 U.S. men’s team that finished as runner-up to Canada at the world championship: Ryan Boyle, Kevin Cassese, Ryan Powell, Matt Striebel and Kyle Sweeney. Boyle, Cassese and Striebel were also members of the gold medal-winning 2002 U.S. men’s team.

Since the first recognized international championship in 1967, the U.S. has won eight gold medals, most recently in 2002. Todd Rassas, a three-time All-America defenseman for the Irish, was a member of the ’02 U.S. squad. Rassas, a 1998 Notre Dame graduate, also was on the U.S. team that captured silver in 2006.

The team’s first appearance together will be at the 2010 US Lacrosse National Convention in Baltimore, Md., Jan. 15-17, followed by their first on-field competition together at the 2010 Champion Challenge at Disney’s Wide World of Sports in Orlando, Fla. against Duke and Army, Jan. 30-31.

2010 U.S. Men's National Team:A   Ryan Boyle - Boston Cannons (Princeton '04)M   Kevin Cassese - Boston Cannons (Duke '03)D   Joe Cinosky - Toronto Nationals (Maryland '08)M/A     Ned Crotty - Duke '09M   Kyle Dixon - Washington Bayhawks (Virginia '06)G   Brian Dougherty - Long Island Lizards (Maryland '96)D   D.J. Driscoll - Chicago Machine (Notre Dame '06)G   Adam Fullerton - Denver Outlaws (Army '08)A   Mike Leveille - Chicago Machine (Syracuse '08)D   Eric Martin - Denver Outlaws (Salisbury '04)D   Ryan McClay - Boston Cannons (Cornell '03)A   Brendan Mundorf - Denver Outlaws (UMBC '06)D   Shawn Nadelen - Washington Bayhawks (Johns Hopkins '01)M   Stephen Peyser - Long Island Lizards (Johns Hopkins '08)A   Ryan Powell - Big Foot LC (Syracuse '00)M   Paul Rabil - Boston Cannons (Johns Hopkins '08)M   Chris Schiller - Sailin' Shoe LC (Penn State '99)M   Max Seibald - Denver Outlaws (Cornell '09)M   Alex Smith - Washington Bayhawks (Delaware '07)M   Matt Striebel - Chicago Machine (Princeton '01)D   Kyle Sweeney - Boston Cannons (Georgetown '03)A   Drew Westervelt - Denver Outlaws (UMBC '07)M   Matt Zash - Long Island Lizards (Duke '06)