Junior WR Michael Floyd.

Floyd Named To Walter Camp Player of the Year Watch List

Aug. 10, 2010

NOTRE DAME, Ind. – Notre Dame junior wide receiver Michael Floyd was named to the Walter Camp Football Foundation 2010 Player of the Year Watch List on Tuesday. Floyd was one of 30 players, and just four wideouts, mentioned for the nation’s fourth-oldest individual college football accolade.

Floyd (Saint Paul, Minn.) enters his junior season as one of the most prolific receivers in all of college football. He has totaled 92 receptions for 1,514 yards and 16 touchdowns while starting 17 of 18 games played in an Irish uniform. In 2009, Floyd recorded 44 catches for 795 yards and nine touchdowns in just seven games.

Floyd is ranked among the top five in the country on the active career charts in receiving yards per game and receptions per game. Floyd’s 84.1 yards receiving per game leads the nation amongst returning FBS receivers, while his 5.1 catches per game ranks fourth best.

Floyd, who missed five games in 2009 with a broken collarbone, failed to meet the NCAA rankings minimum requirement for games played, but his 113.6 receiving yards per game would have ranked sixth nationally. His 18.1 yards per catch would have also earned him 12th place on the NCAA season leader list as well.

Floyd has nine career 100-yard receiving games, which ranks third-best in school history. He also has 16 career receiving touchdowns, which is tied with Jim Seymour (1966-68) for seventh on the Notre Dame all-time list.

Floyd has already been named first team preseason All-American by both Yahoo! Sports and Lindy’s. Phil Steele, Sporting News and Athlon have also listed him as a second team preseason All-American.

The watch list will be narrowed to 10 semi-finalists in early November. The 2010 Walter Camp Player of the Year recipient, which is voted on by the 120 NCAA Bowl Subdivision head coaches and sports information directors, will be announced live on the 6 p.m. ESPN SportsCenter on Thursday, December 9. The winner will then receive his trophy at the Foundation’s annual national awards banquet on January 15, 2011 at the Yale University Commons in New Haven.

Walter Camp, “The Father of American football,” first selected an All-America team in 1889. Camp – a former Yale University athlete and football coach – is also credited with developing play from scrimmage, set plays, the numerical assessment of goals and tries and the restriction of play to eleven men per side. The Walter Camp Football Foundation (www.waltercamp.org) – a New Haven-based all-volunteer group – was founded in 1967 to perpetuate the ideals of Camp and to continue the tradition of selecting annually an All-America team.

The Walter Camp Football Foundation is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game’s predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association’s website, www.ncfaa.org.

2010 Walter Camp Player of the Year “Watch List”
Donald Buckram, RB, Senior, UTEP
John Clay, RB, Junior, Wisconsin
Adrian Claybron, DE, Senior, Iowa
Jared Crick, DL, Senior, Nebraska
Andy Dalton, QB, Senior, TCU
Dwight Dasher, QB, Senior, Middle Tennessee State
Noel Devine, RB, Senior, West Virginia
Ricky Dobbs, QB, Senior, Navy
Michael Floyd, WR, Junior, Notre Dame
A.J. Green, WR, Junior, Georgia
Mark Ingram, RB, Junior, Alabama #
LaMichael James, RB, Sophomore, Oregon
Greg Jones, LB, Senior, Michigan State $
Colin Kaepernick, QB, Senior, Nevada
Case Keenum, QB, Senior, Houston $
Dion Lewis, RB, Sophomore, Pittsburgh
Jake Locker, QB, Senior, Washington
Andrew Luck, QB, Sophomore, Stanford
Ryan Mallett, QB, Junior, Arkansas
Kellen Moore, QB, Junior, Boise State
Rahim Moore, DB, Junior, UCLA $
Chris Owusu, WR/KR, Junior, Stanford $
Patrick Peterson, DB, Junior, LSU
Bernard Pierce, RB, Sophomore, Temple
Terelle Pryor, QB, Junior, Ohio State
Jacquizz Rodgers, RB, Junior, Oregon State $
James Rodgers, WR/KR, Senior, Oregon State
Evan Royster, RB, Senior, Penn State
Quad Sturdivant, LB, Senior, North Carolina
Ryan Williams, RB, Sophomore, Virginia Tech

# – 2009 Walter Camp First Team All-America selection
$ – 2009 Walter Camp Second Team All-America selection

— ND —