Steven Perry led the Irish in goals (12) and points (28) during the 2010 season.

Fighting Irish Hold 2010 Awards Banquet

April 18, 2011

NOTRE DAME, Ind. – The Notre Dame men’s soccer team recently held its annual awards banquet and alumni weekend to celebrate yet another successful season. Several former players returned to campus and took part in the festivities.

Senior forward Steven Perry received the Monogram Club Team MVP award, which was chosen by the team. Perry posted team-high and career-high numbers in goals (12) and points (28) during the 2010 season. His four assists also were a career-high total. Perry started all 20 matches for the Irish and was a unanimous all-BIG EAST first-team pick. He also was named to the All-Great Lakes Region second team. Perry registered three two-goal games and had five game-winning tallies during his senior campaign. The New England Revolution selected Perry in the third round of January’s Major League Soccer SuperDraft.

Junior midfielder Adam Mena earned the Knute Rockne Scholar-Athlete Award, which is presented annually to the top student on the Fighting Irish squad. Seniors Craig Krzyskowski and Andrew Luttrell both received the Spirit Award. The award is presented to inspirational members of the team.

Ryan Miller, who played for the Irish from 2003-07, garnered the Mike Berticelli `Bert’ Award. The award is named in honor of former Fighting Irish head coach Mike Berticelli, who suddenly passed away in 2000. Miller copped the honor for becoming the first current or former player in program history selected to the United States senior national team. He was in the U.S. camp prior to January’s exhibition match versus Chile. Miller plays professionally for Halmstads BK in the top division in Sweden.

Notre Dame posted a 10-6-4 overall record in 2010 and finished second in the BIG EAST Blue Division with a 6-2-1 league mark. The Fighting Irish were semifinalists at the BIG EAST Championship and garnered the No. 9 seed in the NCAA Championship. Notre Dame fell to Dartmouth, 2-1 in overtime, during the second round of the NCAA tournament.