Iowa native Steven Brus will return to his home state this weekend with the Notre Dame swimming and diving team.

Fighting Irish Dominate At Pittsburgh For League Win

Nov. 13, 2009

Complete Results

PITTSBURGH, Pa. – Notre Dame won 10 of 12 individual swimming events – each by different swimmers – Friday evening at Trees Pool to hand Pittsburgh a 179-121 defeat in BIG EAST Conference swimming and diving action. The Irish (4-1 overall, 1-0 BIG EAST) now receive a few weeks of rest until heading to the Ohio State Invite, a three-day event spanning from Dec. 4-6.

On the eve before the two school’s football program clash on the gridiron, Notre Dame earned its sixth straight win over the Panthers.

200 Medley Relay: Petar Petrovic, Christopher Johnson, MacKenzie LeBlanc and John Lytle got things started with a win in 1:32.24.

1,000 Free: Ryan Belecanech (9:44.79) outlasted the pack in the long distance race for first place.

200 Free: Andrew Hoffman (1:41.33) was third, followed in the ranks by John McGinley (1:42.91) and Kevin Overholt (1:43.52).

100 Back: Petrovic took the win in 50.73 … Christopher Wills placed third after clocking in at 51.61.

100 Breast: Johnson got the individual victory in 57.36.

200 Fly: LeBlanc paced the field in 1:50.31 … Bill Bass was steady with a second-place time of 1:51.68.

50 Free: Lytle broke the 21.00-second mark with a first-place 20.70.

100 Free: Lytle went back-to-back with the win in 45.12.

200 Back: Wills (1:52.43) won the gold while Petrovic (1:52.47) took second.

200 Breast: Joseph Raycroft (2:07.10) was first with P.J. Koppel (2:08.50) in second.

500 Free: Michael Sullivan (4:38.34) beat the field and Belecanech (4:43.64) touched third.

100 Fly: LeBlanc tacked on another win in 51.20.

200 Individual Medley: Bass (1:53.37) and Sullivan (1:55.62) took the first two spots on the podium.

400 Free Relay: Lytle, LeBlanc, Joshua Nosal and Hoffman touched first in 3:03.83.

1-meter Diving: Caleb Dunnichay finished first overall with 331.65 points.

3-meter Diving: Nathan Geary (322.85) was second and Wesley Villaflor (305.95) was third.