March 5, 2000

NOTRE DAME, Ind. — The Notre Dame men’s and women’s fencing teams completed the 2000 Midwestern Fencing Conference Team Championship on Sunday at the at the Joyce Center Fieldhouse. The Irish came away with titles in men’s foil and women’s epee to add to the overall team championship Notre Dame claimed on Saturday. The Irish return to action at the Midwest Regional Qualifier on Sat., March 11, in Appleton, Wis.

A pair of Irish freshmen met in the men’s foil final with Ozren Debic beating Forest Walton 15-11 to claim the title. Jeremy Beau took seventh and Steve Mautone was ninth. Other Irish men’s foilists were James Harris (14), Chris Brough (15), Shaun Harris (18), Leo Bloschock (21) and Dan Feighery (28).

Freshman Anna Carnick claimed the women’s epee title with a 9-8 victory over Northwestern’s Kellie MacDonald in the title bout. Meagan Call finished sixth, while Kim DeMaio was 16th, Kirsten Housing 24th, Susan Clark 32nd and Ghadeer al-Aali 34th.

Notre Dame placed four sabremen among the top five places but Wayne State’s Jakub Krochmalski came away with the title. Krochmalski beat Irish freshman Matt Fabricant 15-8 in the semifinals and then won the title with a 15-11 decision over sophomore Andre Crompton. Crompton beat sophomore All-American teammate Gabor Szelle 15-6 in the semifinals. Junior Andrzej Bednarski finished fifth, while senior Clay Morton was ninth. Junior Tony Rizzuti finished 17th.

Irish women’s foilists Magda Krol and Liza Boutsikaris each dropped semifinal bouts to finish tied for third. Ohio State’s Faen Groes won the title. Other Irish finishers were Kelly Orsi (13), Aimee Kalogera (17) and Michelle Sutton (32).

Ohio State’s Alan Jones edged Irish freshman Jan Viviani in the men’s epee final. Viviani beat teammate Brian Casas 11-9 in the semifinals. Scott Gabler took fifth, while James Gaither was ninth. Other Irish finishers were John Miller (11), Dominic Guarnaschelli (13) and Steve Kane (27).

Freshman Natalia Mazur took fifth in the women’s sabre field, while Katie Flanagan was seventh and Carianne McCullough took eighth. Other Notre Dame finishes were Mary Beth Willard (10) and Donna Mowchan (13). Northwestern’s Kate Frambach won the title.