March 3, 2009

2009 Coaching Clinic Brochure Get Acrobat Reader

2009 Coaches Clinic Schedule Update Get Acrobat Reader

NOTRE DAME, Ind. – Seven current or former championship football coaches from NCAA Division I, NCAA Division II and Indiana state high school levels have been named guest speakers for the 2009 University of Notre Dame Football Coaches Clinic.

This year’s clinic adds a third day for the first time and will be held on campus March 26-28. Once again, the clinic is open to all football coaches but also to fans that would like an advanced football course taught by some of the best coaches in the country.

Former Wisconsin head coach Barry Alvarez, former Washington State head coach Bill Doba and former Auburn head coach Tommy Tuberville highlight the list of guest speakers. They are joined by Bob Nielson, 2008 Division II national champion at the University of Minnesota-Duluth, and three head coaches of 2008 Indiana state high school champions: Cardinal Ritter’s Ty Hunt, Center Grove’s Eric Moore and Heritage Christian’s Ron Qualls.

In addition to the guest speakers, all members of the Irish coaching staff (including new running backs coach Tony Alford, defensive line coach Randy Hart and offensive line coach/running game coordinator Frank Verducci) will have presentations including head coach Charlie Weis. Chalk-talk sessions will provide attendees with an excellent opportunity to become familiar with various coaching techniques and a chance to know the coaches and other participants.

In addition to the various presentations, participants will get an exclusive look at the ’09 Fighting Irish football team as the squad practices twice during the clinic. Coaches socials both Thursday and Friday evenings, a BBQ dinner on Friday and a tour of the Notre Dame Stadium locker room are all included. Local vendors and exhibitors will also be present during the weekend.

Alvarez guided Wisconsin’s football team from 1990-2005 and is the most successful football coach in school history (118-73-4). He led the Badgers to three Big Ten and Rose Bowl titles and coached 34 All-Americans and 59 NFL draft choices. Alvarez was the 1993 national coach of the year and was a finalist for ESPN’s coach of the decade (1990s) honor. He is currently in his fifth year as athletics director in Madison, a post he served in addition to head football coach from 2004-05. Prior to joining Wisconsin, Alvarez coached at Notre Dame from 1987-89, serving as defensive coordinator from ’88-’89. During Alvarez’s three seasons in South Bend, Irish teams posted a 32-5 record including a 12-0 season in 1988 when the Irish won the national championship.

Born in South Bend and raised in New Carlisle, Ind., Doba spent the first 25 years of his coaching career in the Hoosier State before moving to The Citadel (1987-88) and finally Washington State. Doba was a coach for the Cougars from 1989-2007, serving the last six as head coach. In 2003 he shared the Pacific-10 Conference Coach of the Year award with USC’s Pete Carroll, and from 1994-2002 he served as defensive coordinator and linebackers coach at Washington State. Inducted into the Mishawaka (Ind.) Hall of Fame in 1986 and the Indiana Football Hall of Fame in 2001, Doba served as head coach at Angola (1965-66), Goshen (1968-70) and Mishawaka High Schools (1971-76) before joining Lee Corso’s coaching staff at Indiana University in 1977. He remained with the Hoosiers before jumping to Purdue (1983-86).

A 14-year head coach in the Southeastern Conference, Tuberville amassed a career record of 110-60, including 52-30 in the SEC, at Auburn (1999-2008) and Mississippi (1995-98). Tuberville led the Tigers to five SEC Western Division titles, eight consecutive bowl appearances (2000-07), and its first SEC Championship since 1989 during the ’05 season. The ’05 squad finished 13-0, the most wins in school history, won the Sugar Bowl and helped Tuberville earn coach-of-the-year accolades from the American Football Coaches Association, Associated Press and Walter Camp, among others. Prior to becoming head coach at Ole Miss, he served as defensive coordinator for one season at Texas A&M (1994) and served on the coaching staffs of Jimmy Johnson and Dennis Erickson at Miami (Fla.) (1986-93). With the Hurricanes he was part of three national championships and helped post an 87-9 record in eight seasons.

In his first season as head coach in five years, all Nielson accomplished was to help guide Minnesota-Duluth to a 15-0 record and the 2008 Division II national championship, helping complete the greatest single-season turnaround in Division II recorded history. Nielson, who was head coach at UMD from 1999-2003, returned to the sidelines in ’08 after a four-year hiatus in which he continued to serve as the schools athletics director, a post he assumed in 2003. In six years as head coach at UMD, Nielson has guided the Bulldogs to a 53-19 record, a figure unsurpassed by any UMD head coach. Nielson also has been head coach at Wisconsin-Eau Claire (1996-98), Wartburg (1991-95) and Ripon (1989-90).

Last year’s clinic had more than 500 participants and spots for this year’s clinic are expected to fill quickly. Reservations are currently being accepted and pre-registration must be postmarked by March 16. For more information or to download registration forms, check out the football page on or contact Chad Klunder in the Notre Dame football office at (574) 631-8643 or