Notre Dame Fighting Irish - Official Athletics Website

Fans To Vote For 25-Man All-Century Basketball Team

June 29, 2004

NOTRE DAME, Ind. – 100 years and still going strong. The 2004-05 campaign marks the 100th season for the Notre Dame men’s basketball program.

Who’s your favorite Irish basketball great? Names like Austin Carr, Adrian Dantley, LaPhonso Ellis, Pat Garrity, Tom Hawkins, Moose Krause, John Moir, Troy Murphy, Paul Nowak, Kevin O’Shea, David Rivers, Dick Rosenthal, Walt Sahm, John Shumate, Chris Thomas or Kelly Tripucka, just to name a few conjure up great memories.

Notre Dame fans will have the opportunity to determine a 25-man All-Century Team. The naming of the squad is just one of the special events planned surrounding the year-long celebration of 100 seasons of Irish basketball.

Voting will take place from June 29 thru August 1 on Notre Dame’s official athletic Internet site at

Fans will vote for 15 players that have been part of the program’s glorious history. The ballot consists of 61 nominees who have met at one least one of the following criteria:

  • Earned All-America accolades
  • BIG EAST All-Conference selection or other conference award
  • Top 30 ranking on the Notre Dame career scoring list
  • Ranks among the top five in school history in rebounds, assists, steals, blocks or games played
  • Drafted in the top three of any professional draft
  • Member of an Olympic team

Votes will be tabulated and results will be announced on sometime in the fall.

A special logo commemorating the 100th season has been designed to honor the occasion and events are currently being planned to celebrate this special year as well as those 25 members named to the All-Century Team.

Members of the ballot include: Bob Arnzen (Forward, 1968-69), Lloyd Aubrey (Forward/Center, 1953-56), Ken Barlow (Forward/1982-86), Leo Barnhorst (Guard/Center, 1946-49), Dave Batton (Forward/Center,1974-78), Elmer Bennett (Guard,1988-92), Vince Boryla (Center, 1944-46), Rich Branning (Guard, 1976-80), Gary Brokaw (Guard, 1972-74), Austin Carr (Guard, 1968-71), Matt Carroll (Guard, 1999-2003), Jordan Cornette (Forward, 2001-present), Adrian Dantley (Forward, 1973-76), LaPhonso Ellis (Forward, 1988-92), Robert Faught (Center, 1941-43), Bruce Flowers (Forward/Center, 1975-79), Torin Francis (Forward, 2002-present), Pat Garrity (Forward, 1994-98), David Graves (Forward, 1998-02), Bill Hanzlik (Guard, 1976-80), Bill Hassett (Guard, 1944-46), Tom Hawkins (Forward, 1956-59), Ryan Hoover (Guard, 1992-96), Ryan Humphrey (Forward, 2000-02), Martin Ingelsby (Guard, 1997-2001), George Ireland (Guard, 1933-36), Tracy Jackson (Forward, 1977-81), Collis Jones (Forward, 1968-71), Noble Kizer (Guard, 1922-25), Leo Klier (Forward, 1942-44, 1945-46), Toby Knight (Center, 1973-77), Edward “Moose” Krause (Center, 1931-34), Bill Laimbeer (Center, 1975-79), Leroy Leslie (Forward, 1949-52), John Moir (Forward, 1935-38), Troy Murphy (Forward, 1998-01), Paul Nowak (Center, 1935-38), John Nyikos (Center, 1924-27), Kevin O’Shea (Guard, 1946-50), John Paxson (Guard, 1979-83), Ron Reed (Forward (1962-65), Robert Rensberger (Guard, 1940-43), Eddie Riska (Forward, 1938-41), David Rivers (Guard, 1984-88), Dick Rosenthal (Center/Forward, 1951-54), Walt Sahm (Center, 1962-65), Raymond Scanlon (Guard, 1907-09), Larry Sheffield (Guard, 1962-65), John Shumate (Forward, 1972-74), Tim Singleton (Guard, 1987-91), Ed Smith (Guard, 1927-30), John Smyth (Forward, 1954-57), Jack Stephens (Forward/Guard, 1951-55), Harold Swanagan (Forward, 1998-02), Daimon Sweet (Guard, 1988-92), Chris Thomas (Guard, 2001-present), Kelly Tripucka (Forward, 1977-81), Bob Whitmore (Center, 1966-69), Don Williams (Guard, 1974-78), Monty Williams (Forward, 1989-90, 1992-94) and Orlando Woolridge (Forward (1977-81).

A 100th Season of Notre Dame Basketball commemorative yearbook will be published in October, 2004 and will include features on all 25 members of the All-Century Team. Also included in the publication will be a chronology of events and moments that have shaped the history of the Notre Dame basketball program.