Courtney Tennis Center

Notre Dame’s Courtney Tennis Center, the home of Irish men’s tennis since its construction in 1967 and women’s tennis since the establishment of the varsity program in 1980, has played host to the nation’s top players on a number of occasions, while becoming an extremely difficult place for opposing teams to win.

Due to its exceptional facilities, Notre Dame has played host to a number of prestigious events, including serving as the national site of the NCAA Championships three times. Just four years after it was built the Courtney Tennis Center played host to the 1971 NCAA Division I Men’s Tennis Championships, which featured what is still considered by coaches to be the finest collection of collegiate tennis talent ever assembled.

Cabrera vs. NCCU

In all, the Courtney Tennis Center has been the site of NCAA action on 18 occasions, including every year from 1994-2002 for either women or men's play.

In addition, it has played host to conference championships on 14 occasions, as well as an Intercollegiate Tennis Association Summer Circuit event for 10 straight years from 1994-2003.

In addition to the summer circuit events and postseason tournaments, the Irish women’s program played host to the Eck Classic from 1988-2002 as well as in ’06, ’10 and ’11 during the fall season, while the men’s squad competed in the Tom Fallon annually from 1987-2008 and again played host beginning in ’10, ’11 and ’12. The tournament was renamed the Bobby Bayliss Invitational in 2013.

The first home of the Irish tennis team was the Notre Dame Fieldhouse, which played host to Irish home matches until the Courtney Center was built. The structure was razed in 1983. Indoor courts in Notre Dame’s Joyce Center also were used sporadically before the Eck Tennis Pavilion’s construction.

Events hosted by Courtney Tennis Center/Eck 
Tennis Pavilion:NCAA Championships: (M) 1971, '94; (W) 1998
NCAA Championships (Early Rounds):(M) 1994, '95, '96, '98, 2002, '07, '14;
(W) 1997, '99, 2000, '01, '06, '07, '09, '10
ITA Midwest Region Championships:(M) 1990, '93;
(W) 1998
ITA Summer Circuit Tournament:(M/W) 1994-2003, 2013-2015
BIG EAST Conference Championship:(M) 2010, '11, '13; (W) 2010, '11, '13
Midwestern Collegiate Conference Championship:(M) 1992, '93, '95
North Star Conference Championship:(W) 1983, '86, '87
Tom Fallon Invitational:(M) 1987-2008, '10, '12
Bobby Bayliss Invitational:2013
Irish Fall Invitational:(M) 1970-86; (W) 1977-87
Eck Classic:(W) 1988-2002, '04, '06, '10


purpose Practice & Competition
Year Opened 1967
Surface Type Hard Courts
Number of courts 14