Notre Dame Fighting Irish - Official Athletics Website

Equanimeous St. Brown Named To Biletnikoff Award Watch List

July 18, 2017

NOTRE DAME, Indiana — University of Notre Dame junior wide receiver Equanimeous St. Brown was named to the 2017 Biletnikoff Award Watch List on Tuesday. St. Brown was one of 45 players mentioned for the award that is presented annually to the nation’s outstanding pass catcher at any position.

St. Brown, Notre Dame’s 2016 Offensive Player of the Year, has started 12 games over his two-year, 19-game career. He’s caught 59 passes for 969 yards and nine TDs over the last two years. St. Brown led the Irish receiving corp with 58 grabs, 961 yards and nine TDs in 2016.

Among freshmen and sophomores in 2016, St. Brown ranked sixth in receiving yards (961), tied for sixth in TD receptions (nine), seventh in receiving yards per game (80.1) and tied for 15th in receptions per game (4.8). He ranked among the country’s top 50 receivers overall in receiving touchdowns (t-36th), receiving yards per game (41st) and receiving yards (45th).

Notre Dame All-American wide receiver Golden Tate captured the honor in 2009. He became the first Irish player to win the Biletnikoff Award. Other Irish finalists include Jeff Samardzija (2005, 2006) and Michael Floyd (2010, 2011).

Here’s a quick rundown for the rest of the week and when specific awards will release watch lists:

Mon., July 10: Bednarik Award (Morgan)/Maxwell Award (Josh Adams, McGlinchey)
Tue., July 11: John Mackey Award (Alizé Mack, Durham Smythe)/Rimington Trophy (Sam Mustipher)
Wed., July 12: Lou Groza Award/Ray Guy Award
Thur., July 13: Bronco Nagurski Trophy (Morgan)/Outland Trophy (McGlinchey, Quenton Nelson)
Fri., July 14: Jim Thorpe Award
Mon., July 17: Butkus Award (Morgan)/Paul Hornung Award
Tue., July 18: Biletnikoff Award (Equanimeous St. Brown)/Wuerffel Trophy (Tyler Newsome, Drue Tranquill, Nic Weishar)
Wed., July 19: Davey O’Brien Award
Thur., July 20: Doak Walker Award
Fri., July 21: Walter Camp Award

— ND —