Dec. 3, 2011

Complete Results

IOWA CITY, Iowa – Sophomore Frank Dyer stole the show on day two of the Hawkeye Invitational hosted by the University of Iowa by breaking the meet, pool and school records in the 200 free. Dyer posted a first-place finals swim of 1:35.58, nearly two seconds faster than his preliminary performance of 1:37.51.

Irish great John Lytle held the previous school record in the 200 free (1:35.79), set during the 2009 BIG EAST Conference Championships.

The Irish (325.5) swimming squad remains in third place behind Michigan (644) and Iowa (476).

Notre Dame resumes action at the Iowa Aquatic Center to wrap up the invite at 10:00 a.m. (CT) on Sunday. Live results will be available at

200 Medley Relay: An NCAA B-cut (1:29.24) was added to the resume of the four-person squad comprised of Bertie Nel, Christopher Johnson, Dyer and Kevin Overholt.

400 Individual Medley: Patrick Olson (4:00.24) came in eighth to tally 11 points for the Irish.

100 Butterfly: The B-final saw Conor Evans (49.75) take 11th overall.

200 Free: The meet, pool and school record fell in the wake of Dyer’s first-place time of 1:35.58, which was also an NCAA B-cut … Overholt (1:39.45) took seventh in the race.

100 Breast: Johnson (55.23) turned in an NCAA B-cut and finished third as Colin Babcock (56.19) tapped the wall fifth overall … Cameron Miller (56.49) was seventh.

100 Back: Nel (49.54) was Notre Dame’s highest finisher and placed seventh.

800 Free Relay: Seventh place went to Olson, Dyer, Nel and John McGinley after punching in at 6:48.58.