March 9, 2016

NOTRE DAME, Ind. ââ’¬” The University of Notre Dame men’s and women’s diving squads traveled to West Lafayette, Ind. Wednesday afternoon, in anticipation of the Zone C NCAA Qualifier meet. Both squads will compete in 1-meter, 3-meter and Platform events Thursday, March 10 through Saturday, March 12.

Senior Lindsey Streepey has high hopes of making the NCAA Championship, after just missing the cut last season.

On the women’s side, seniors Emma Gaboury and Lindsey Streepey have been strong competitors for the Irish all four years, and hope to earn their first trips to the NCAA meet. Streepey just missed out on automatically qualifying for last year’s meet in 3-meter, finishing 10th with 602.00 points. Gaboury claimed 13th in 2015 (578.95 points) and sophomore Annie Crea finished 38th with 224.55 points. The story was much the same in 1-meter, where Streepey took 16th (562.95 points) at the 2015 meet, followed by Gaboury (21st, 264.55) and Crea (31st, 243.15). Junior Christine Stitcher and freshman Deidre Worth will also compete for the women’s team, while on the men’s side, ACC Championship diving entrants Zane Parker and James Lichtenstein will try to qualify for the Irish men’s team.

Per a rules change before the 2015 zone meet, a diver has to individually qualify for each event they wish to compete in at NCAAs. For the women’s team, placing 12th or better in 1-meter, seventh or higher in 3-meter, and 10th or better in platform will earn an automatic invitation to the NCAA meet. For the men’s side, the top seven (1-meter), nine (3-meter) and eight (platform) performers will earn an automatic berth. Should a diver earn an automatic berth in one event, and finish outside the automatic placements ââ’¬” but finish 12th or higher ââ’¬” in another event, the diver can also compete in the non-automatic event as well, due to their 12th-place or better finish in the second event.

Thursday March 10, starting at 1 p.m. ET, the women’s 1-meter and men’s 3-meter will be held. Friday March 11, also starting at 1 p.m. ET, the men’s 1-meter and women’s 3-meter will compete. Saturday March 12, starting at 11 a.m. ET, women’s platform will be held first, with the men’s platform event to follow. In each event, the top 18 in the opening round/prelims will advance to the finals, with scores carrying over.

Other schools expected to have at least one diver competing in Zone C with the Irish are Akron, Ball State, Bowling Green, Cincinnati, Cleveland State, Eastern Michigan, Illinois, Illinois-Chicago, Indiana, IUPUI, Kentucky, Louisville, Miami (Ohio), Michigan, Michigan State, Northwestern, Oakland, Ohio, Ohio State, Purdue, Southern Illinois, Wright State and Youngstown State.

Daily recaps can be found on

— ND —

Lizzie Mikes serves as Media Services Coordinator at the University of Notre Dame. A 2013 graduate of Johnson & Wales University, she oversees credential management and is the athletic communications director for Fighting Irish men’s and women’s swimming and diving and track and field. She has assisted with numerous NCAA postseason events hosted by Notre Dame, and is heavily involved in the day-to-day tasks of the athletic communications office.