Dayne Crist was one of 11 players from the NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision named to the 2011 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team

Dayne Crist Named To 2011 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team

Sept. 20, 2011

NORTHBROOK, Ill. – University of Notre Dame senior quarterback Dayne Crist was one of 22 student-athletes named to the 2011 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team, Allstate and the AFCA announced Tuesday.

In its 20th year, college football’s pre-eminent community service award recognizes the extra efforts made by college football players and student support staff off the field. Two 11-member teams comprise the Good Works Team. One team has 11 players representing the NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision and the second team has 11 student-athletes from the NCAA Football Championship Subdivision, NCAA Divisions II and III plus the NAIA.

Crist has helped organize a fundraiser on Notre Dame’s campus each of the past three years to benefit St. Baldrick’s Foundation, a charity that raises money for childhood cancer research. In his three years involved with the fundraiser, he has helped the group raise approximately $100,000 for the charity.

The senior from Canoga Park, Calif., has been one of the most active student-athletes within the South Bend community on the football team. Besides helping organize the St. Baldrick’s Bald and the Beautiful fundraiser, Crist has read to grade school children at St. Joseph’s Grade School and visited with patients at St. Joseph’s Medical Center. Last June he volunteered at a local youth group where he served as a mentor and role model for South Bend-area kids.

Crist is the sixth Notre Dame football player selected to the Good Works Team since 1999. Safety Tom Zbikowski was named to the 2007 team, offensive lineman Bob Morton was selected for the 2006 squad, linebacker Derek Curry was chosen for the 2004 team, linebacker Courtney Watson was named to the 2003 team and defensive end Grant Irons was the first Notre Dame player to be honored in 1999.

A record 132 student-athletes were nominated for the award this summer by college and university sports information directors. From the nominations, a special voting panel, including former Allstate AFCA Good Works Team members and current college football broadcasters, selected the 22 players from across the country to the team.

Fans will be able to vote for an Allstate AFCA Good Works Team Captain by visiting and searching “Good Works.” All 22 members of the Good Works Team will be invited to New Orleans to take part in a special volunteer project leading up to the 2012 Allstate Sugar Bowl.

The following players have been selected to the 2011 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team:
Football Bowl Subdivision
Robert Griffin, Jr., QB, Baylor
Chris Potter, Jr., WR, Boise State
Brian Lockridge, Sr., RB, Colorado
Aron White, Sr., TE, Georgia
Jacob Lewellen, Jr., DL, Kentucky
Jared Crick, Sr., DL, Nebraska
Alexander Netter, Sr., OL, Northwestern
Dayne Crist, Sr., QB, Notre Dame
Matt Barkley, Jr., QB, Southern California
Wayne Tribue, Sr., OL, Temple
Emmanuel Acho, Sr., LB, Texas

Football Championship Subdivision, Divisions II and III, NAIA
Byron Bell, Sr., DL, Carson-Newman
Cory Nikkel, Sr., TE, Central (Iowa)
Jacob Heppner, Sr., DB, Central Methodist
Stoy Hall, Sr., LB, Drake
David Melms, Jr., DB, Macalester
Kellen Cox, Jr., WR, Missouri Southern State
Colby Rohde, Sr., TE, Morningside
Justin Belotti, Sr., DB, North Dakota
Yaser Elqutub, Sr., LB, Northwestern State
Matt Greenhalgh, Jr., OL, Rhode Island
Ricky McClain, Jr., DL, SUNY Maritime