David Ruffer is a perfect 18 of 18 on field goals in his career

David Ruffer Named Semifinalist For The 2010 Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award

Oct. 29, 2010

NOTRE DAME, Ind. – Notre Dame senior place kicker David Ruffer (Oakton, Va./Gonzaga H.S.) has been a semifinalist for the 2010 Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award presented by the Discover Orange Bowl.

Ruffer has connected on all 13 of his field goal attempts and made 22 of 23 extra-point attempts in 2010. He has actually converted 18 consecutive field goals dating back to the Pittsburgh contest in 2009. The 18 straight field goals is the longest streak in school history and tied with Joe Phillips of Utah for the longest active streak in the Football Bowl Subdivision. Ruffer is also one of only two kickers in the FBS still perfect through at least 13 field goal attempts.

Ruffer has also connected on a field goal in 11 straight games, each game in which he has served as the Irish place kicker. The 11 consecutive games with a field goal is the second-longest streak in school history and longest by a Notre Dame kicker since Nicholas Setta set the school record with a field goal in 16 straight games (2000-02).

Ruffer’s 50-yard field goal against Pittsburgh earlier this season, which actually broke the previous school record for consecutive field goals, was tied for the sixth-longest field goal in school history. It was the longest field goal by an Irish player since D.J. Fitzpatrick booted a 50-yarder against Syracuse on Dec. 6, 2003. Ruffer became the sixth place kicker in school history to connect on a field goal of 50 yards or longer

Ruffer is a perfect 18 of 18 on field goals in his career. The 18 consecutive field goals to open a career is also a school record.

All Division I head coaches and Sports Information Directors, along with national, regional and local football writers and others will select the three finalists. These finalists will be honored at the Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Awards Banquet on Dec. 7 in West Palm Beach, FL. The winner will be announced live on the nationally televised Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show on the evening of Dec. 9.

The award is named in honor of one of the all-time great kickers in football history, Lou Groza. Groza played 21 seasons for the Cleveland Browns setting numerous franchise records, including most games played, most points scored, and an amazing 107 consecutive games in which he scored a point. The 1,608 career points he scored is still a Browns’ franchise record, and he ranks third all-time in league. Groza was inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1974.

Past Groza finalists include current NFL kickers Nate Kaeding, Sebastian Janikowski, Mike Nugent, Jason Elam, Mason Crosby and Graham Gano.

For more information regarding the Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award and to follow the season progress, please go to www.lougrozaaward.com.

2010 Lou Groza Award Semifinalist
Player School
Dan Bailey Oklahoma State
Devin Barclay Ohio State
Kyle Brotzman Boise State
Dan Conroy Michigan State
Derek Dimke Illinois
Kai Forbath UCLA
Kevin Goessling Fresno State
Chris Hazley Virginia Tech
Alex Henery Nebraska
Dustin Hopkins Florida State
Danny Hrapmann Southern Miss
Josh Jasper Josh Jasper
Aaron Jones Baylor
Joe Phillips Utah
Grant Ressel Missouri
David Ruffer Notre Dame
Will Snyderwine Duke
Collin Wagner Penn State
Blair Walsh Georgia
Nate Whitaker Stanford