Notre Dame Fighting Irish - Official Athletics Website

Danielle Shearer Is One Of 21 Nominees For 2003 Women's Tewaaraton Trophy

March 24, 2003

Notre Dame, Ind. – Notre Dame senior women’s lacrosse player, Danielle Shearer (Hampstead, Md.) has been selected as one of 21 nominees for the 2003 Tewaarton Trophy, the most coveted and prestigious award a varsity lacrosse player can receive. She becomes the first Notre Dame women’s lacrosse player ever nominated for this award.

The Tewaaraton Trophy is presented annually following the collegiate season to the top female and male varsity collegiate lacrosse players in the United States. Scholarship money is given to the recipient’s college or university general scholarship fund. The Foundation committee honors Native American heritage with the name “Tewaaraton,” the name the Mohawk nation gave to their game and the progenitor of present day lacrosse and has received approval from the Mohawk Council of Elders.

Every qualified male and female college varsity player in Divisions I, II and III is eligible for the Award. Nominations are requested from all varsity coaches. A selection committee comprised of coaches for both male and female candidates oversees the voting process. Candidates who emerge during the season will be added to wild-card spots. The five finalists will be announced in May.

Shearer came into the 2003 season ranked third on Notre Dame’s all-time scoring list with 95 goals and 40 assists for 135 career points. She led the Irish in 2002 with 39 goals and 20 assists for 59 points and was a unanimous first team all-BIG EAST selection and the BIG EAST midfielder of the year. She was a first team regional all-American and along with defender Kathryn Lam, became the first IWLCA all-Americans in the six-year history of the Notre Dame women’s lacrosse program. Shearer helped lead the Irish to their first-ever NCAA tournament berth as they won a first round game before losing to eventual champion Princeton in the quarterfinals. Through four games this season, Shearer leads the Irish with eight goals and eight assists for 16 points.

The Tewaaraton Trophy Awards Dinner will be held at The University Club of Washington, DC on June 4, 2003, at a banquet honoring the finalists and winners.

The Nominees for the 2003 Tewaarton Trophy (in alphabetical order)

Sarah Averson (Cornell) - AttackLauren Aumiller (Virginia) - MidfieldRachael Becker (Princeton) - DefenseKelly Coppedge (Maryland) - MidfieldMichi Ellers (Georgetown) - DefenseSuzanne Eyler (Loyola) - DefenseAndy Fortino (North Carolina) - DefenseChar Glessner (Middlebury College) - AttackKate Kaiser (Duke) - MidfieldKatie Jeschke (Penn State) - AttackGloria Lozano (Georgetown) - MidfieldMeghan Miller (Duke) - DefenseJazmine Norton (North Carolina) - DefenseTiffany Schummer (Virginia) - DefenseDanielle Shearer (Notre Dame) - Midfield/AttackTheresa Sherry (Princeton) - MidfieldLisa Staedt (James Madison) - MidfieldWick Stanwick (Georgetown) - AttackMiles Whitman (Yale) - MidfieldSuzanne Wosczyna (Old Dominion) - MidfieldLeigh-Ann Zimmer (Syracuse) - Midfield