Notre Dame Fighting Irish - Official Athletics Website

Cross Country Sweeps Notre Dame Invitational

Oct. 3, 2003

Complete Results

The University of Notre Dame men’s and women’s cross country teams unleashed their full rosters this weekend at the 48th-annual Notre Dame Invitational on campus Friday afternoon. After both teams slugged through rainy, muddy and cold conditions, both Irish squads walked away with the team titles.

The second-ranked women, led by individual winner Molly Huddle, won easily with 73 points, ahead of Wake Forest in second with 105.

The men bested two higher-ranked teams, finishing first ahead of #12 Michigan, #29 Eastern Michigan and #7 Central Michigan. The Irish men ended up with 76 points, ahead of Michigan (92) and Eastern Michigan (128).

Sophomore Molly Huddle and junior Lauren King took to the cross country course for the first time together this season on Friday. Both All-Americans last year when the Irish finished third as a team at the NCAA Championship, they began the 2003 season on solid footing with a one-two finish. Huddle completed the 5K course in 17:12, while King was right behind in 17:24.

Junior Kerry Meagher continued her cross country improvement with a seventh-place effort as Notre Dame’s third runner. She was followed by Megan Johnson in 21st and Jean Marinangeli in 42nd to complete Notre Dame’s scoring.

The men’s team was running at full strength for the first time this season as well. Tim Moore led the Irish with a third-place finish (24:34), but it was the entire team effort which enabled Notre Dame to best its opponents. Freshman Kurt Bennninger made the most of his Irish debut, taking 12th overall, followed by Todd Mobley (15th), Sean O’Donnell (20th) and Kaleb Van Ort (26th) to round out the Notre Dame men’s team scoring.

The victories by both the men’s and women’s team mark just the third time both the men and women claimed the Notre Dame Invitational titles in the same season (the last occurring in 2001, the previous in 1993). Huddle becomes the fifth Irish harrier to claim the women’s individual title since women joined in the meet in 1987.

The season continues for both teams at the Pre-National meet in two weeks (10-15), which will be run in Cedar Falls, Iowa, the eventual spot of this year’s NCAA Championship (11-24).


Men’s Blue Division

3. Tim Moore (24:34)

12. Kurt Benninger (24:56)

15. Todd Mobley (24:49)

20. Sean O’Donnell (25:11)

26. Kaleb Van Ort (25:16)

36. Brian Kerwin (25:27)

42. Eric Morrison (25:31)

46. Ryan Johnson (25:34)

Women’s Blue Division

1. Molly Huddle (17:12)

2. Lauren King (17:24)

7. Kerry Meagher (17:44)

21. Megan Johnson (18:00)

42. Jean Marinangeli (18:24)

49. Katie Wales (18:35)

55. Elizabeth Webster (18:39)

120. Amy Kohlmeier (19:37)

Men’s Gold Division

6. Vinnie Ambrico (25:32)

10. Kevin Somok (25:38)

11. David Alber (25:39)

12. Terry Lennon (25:40)

18. A.J. Andrassy (25:50)

30. Todd Ptacek (25:58)

40. Mike Manning (26:19)

49. Bucky Schaffer (26:30)

54. Tom Weiler (26:35)

Women’s Gold Division

37. Christi Arnerich (19:08)

41. Katie DeRusso (19:13)

45. Jenny Walls (19:15)

48. Jennifer Richard (19:19)

75. Ann Mazur (19:44)

78. Brianne Schmidt (19:50)

82. Jackie Heap (19:55)

97. Katie Ellgass (20:15)

113. Megan Peterson (20:52)

Women’s Open

14. Mary Phillips (20:21)