Williams Scholar Athlete

Anthony Williams Named ACC Scholar-Athlete Of The Year, Nine Others Recognized

GREENSBORO, N.C — After helping his team to a conference title, a second-place finish at the NCAA Great Lakes Regional and their first top-10 ranking in over a decade, all while maintaining high marks in the classroom, senior Anthony Williams has been named male cross country Scholar Athlete of the Year as announced by the Atlantic Coast Conference Thursday afternoon (January 31). The recipient must be of junior or senior standing and maintain a 3.0 grade point average over their collegiate career as well as in the past two semesters.

Earning a cumulative grade point average of 3.539 with a major in biological sciences, the Bloomington, Indiana native has excelled both on and off the course during his four years with the Irish. This fall, Williams finished sixth at the ACC Championships in Boston, Massachusetts, propelling his team to their first conference title since joining the league in 2013. He followed up that performance with All-Region honors at the Great Lakes Regional meet when he ran to a 23rd-place finish which helped his team secure the automatic bid to the NCAA National Championship. He capped off the season with a top-100 finish when he crossed the 10K line in 30:35.8 as the snow fell in Madison, Wisconsin.

Williams, who has been named to the All-ACC Academic Team twice in his four year career, was previously named All-ACC for the fall of 2018.

Nine others were named Academic All-ACC for the fall semester including, Rachel DaDamio, Jacqueline Gaughan, Jessica Harris and Anna Rohrer on the women’s side and Andrew Alexander, Daniel Kilrea, Yared Nuguse, Kevin Salvano and Bradley Wattleworth rounded out the six Irish men to be honored.

To be considered Academic All-ACC, one must post a minimum 3.0 grade point average for the past semester as well as a cumulative mark of 3.0 throughout their collegiate careers.

Many Irish student-athletes were named to the All-ACC Academic for a second time. Nuguse and Wattleworth were both named to the team in 2017 while Rohrer and Williams earned the honors in 2016. Senior Rachel DaDamio has been named to the women’s All-ACC Academic Team all four years of her career.

A complete list of the honorees can be found below:

2018 All-ACC Academic Women’s Cross Country Team
Logan Morris, Clemson, Jr., Industrial Engineering
Michaela Reinhart, Duke, So., Undeclared
Elizabeth Funderburk, Florida State, Fr., Finance
Jodie Judd, Florida State, So., Editing, Writing, Media
Militsa Mircheva, Florida State, Gr., International Affairs
Megan Mooney, Florida State, Jr., Hospitality & Tourism Mgt.
Maudie Skyring, Florida State, So., Exercise Physiology
Hana Herndon, Georgia Tech, So., Civil Engineering
Amy Ruiz, Georgia Tech, Sr., Electrical Engineering
Dorcas Wasike, Louisville, Jr., Nursing
Enyaeva Michelin, North Carolina, Fr., Undeclared
Dominique Clairmonte, NC State, So, History
Nell Crosby, NC State, Sr., Physiology
Elly Henes, NC State, Jr., Psychology
Heather Holt, NC State, Fr., Undeclared
Nevada Mareno, NC State, Fr., Fashion & Textile Mgt.
Savannah Shaw, NC State, Fr., Business Administration
Isabel Zimmermann, NC State, So., Nutrition Science
***Rachel DaDamio, Notre Dame, Sr., Applied & Computational Mathematics
Jacqueline Gaughan, Notre Dame, Fr., Undeclared
Jessica Harris, Notre Dame, Gr., Master of Science
*Anna Rohrer, Notre Dame, Sr., Neuroscience & Biology

Sam Shields, Pitt, Jr., Nursing
Rachel Bonner, Syracuse, Jr., Biology
Madeline Davison, Syracuse, Jr., News & Online Journalism/Sociology
Laura Dickinson, Syracuse, Fr., Sport & Human Dynamics
Mary Malone, Syracuse, Sr., Public Relations
Abbey Green, Virginia, Fr., Undeclared
Sara Freix, Virginia Tech, Jr., Biological Systems Engineering
Kayla Richardson, Virginia Tech, Jr., Computer Science
Sam Halvorsen, Wake Forest, Jr., English
Mimi Smith, Wake Forest, Sr., Health & Exercise Science

2018 All-ACC Academic Women’s Cross Country Team
Sean Burke, Boston College, Sr., Biochemistry
Nikhil Pulimood, Duke, Sr., Computer Science
Josh Romine, Duke, So., Undeclared
Steven Cross, Florida State, Jr., Finance
Caleb Pottorff, Florida State, Fr., Exercise Physiology
Istvan Szogi, Florida State, Sr., International Affairs
James Cragin, Georgia Tech, Fr., Business Administration
Andrew Kent, Georgia Tech, Jr., Mechanical Engineering
Chandler Austin, Louisville, Sr., Business Administration
Alex Milligan, North Carolina, Jr., Business Administration
Gavin Gaynor, NC State, So., Chemical Engineering
Eli Moskowitz, NC State, Sr., Biological Science
Andrew Alexander, Notre Dame, So., Neuroscience & Behavior
Daniel Kilrea, Notre Dame, Fr., Undeclared
*Yared Nuguse, Notre Dame, So., Biochemistry
Kevin Salvano, Notre Dame, Jr., Accountancy
*Bradley Wattleworth, Notre Dame, Gr., Science in Mgt.
*Anthony Williams, Notre Dame, Sr., Biological Sciences

Nick Wolk, Pitt, Jr., Econ/Political Science
Noah Affolder, Syracuse, So., Health & Exercise Science
Illiass Aouani, Syracuse, Sr., Civil Engineering
Dominic Hockenbury, Syracuse, Jr., Biology
Stephen Schultz, Syracuse, So., Graphic Design
Simon Smith, Syracuse, Sr., Biology
Aidan Tooker, Syracuse, Jr., Communication/Rhetorical Studies
Brent Demarest, Virginia, Sr., Educational Psychology
AJ Ernst, Virginia, Jr., History
Jack Joyce, Virginia Tech, Sr., Economics
Bashir Mosavel-Lo, Virginia Tech, Fr., Industrial Systems Engineering
Peter Seufer, Virginia Tech, Sr., Finance
Mitchell Day, Wake Forest, So., Undeclared
Zach Facioni, Wake Forest, Fr., Undeclared

* indicates multiple All-ACC Academic Team honors