Notre Dame Fighting Irish - Official Athletics Website

Costabile And Kielty Named To Tewaaraton Watch List

NEW YORK – Notre Dame placed two players on the first Tewaaraton Award Watch List of the 2020 season, as senior defenseman Jack Kielty and senior midfielder Bryan Costabile earned the distinction on Thurdsay evening.

The list includes the top 50 players across all three divisions of NCAA lacrosse and highlights the early contenders for the 2020 Tewaaraton Award.

The Tewaaraton Award annually honors the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States. The selection committees are made up of premier collegiate coaches and are appointed annually by The Tewaaraton Foundation.

Kielty (Morristow, New Jersey – Delbarton School) is Notre Dame’s leader of the defensive unit on the 2020 squad. The senior has been selected as an Inside Lacrosse Third Team All-American and a Preseason All-ACC honoree. The defensive stalwart has started every game in each of the last two seasons. The Irish have ranked in the top 15 in the country in goals allowed per game in both 2018 and 2019 when Kielty has been a key piece of the defensive unit.

Costabile (Sykesville, Maryland – Mount Saint Joseph)is on pace to become Notre Dame’s all-time leading goal scorer by a midfielder in his career. Costabile set the single-season program record for goals by a midfielder in 2019 with 42 to his name. Costabile was named the ACC Offensive Player of the Year in 2019 and was a unanimous first team All-America selection. The senior enters the season with 89 career goals and is looking to become just the second midfielder in program history to reach the 100-goal milestone.

Players not named to the initial lists have several opportunities to play their way into a spot as the season progresses. Watch list additions, if applicable, will be announced on March 12 and April 2. On April 23, the field will be narrowed to 25 men’s and 25 women’s nominees. Nominees can be players from the watch lists or not from the watch lists, effectively allowing for a third round of additions.

Five men’s and five women’s finalists will be announced on May 7 and invited to the 20th annual Tewaaraton Award Ceremony in Washington, D.C., on May 28.

For more information on the Tewaaraton Foundation or to attend this exciting event, visit Like and follow The Tewaaraton Foundation at, and

About The Tewaaraton Foundation
Founded at the University Club of Washington, DC and first presented in 2001, the Tewaaraton Award is recognized as the preeminent lacrosse award, annually honoring the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States. Endorsed by the Mohawk Nation Council of Elders and U.S. Lacrosse, the Tewaaraton Award symbolizes lacrosse’s centuries-old roots in Native American heritage. The Tewaaraton Foundation ensures the integrity and advances the mission of this award. Each year, the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six tribal nations of the Iroquois Confederacy – the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca and Tuscarora – and presents two scholarships to students of Native American descent. To learn more about The Tewaaraton Foundation, please visit