Notre Dame Fighting Irish - Official Athletics Website

Cornerback Shane Walton Named A Semifinalist For The Jim Thorpe Award

Nov. 6, 2002

Notre Dame senior cornerback Shane Walton has been named one of 14 semifinalists for the Jim Thorpe Award presented annually to the nation’s best college defensive back. The other semifinalists include:

Rod Babers, Sr, Texas
Troy Polamalu, Sr, USC
Sammy Davis, Sr, Texas A&M
Etric Pruitt, Jr, Southern Miss.
Mike Doss, Sr, Ohio State
Stuart Schweigert, Jr, Purdue
Brandon Everage, Jr, Oklahoma
Derrick Strait, Jr, Oklahoma
Terrance Holt, Sr, N. Carolina St.
Shane Walton, Sr, Notre Dame
Terence Newman, Sr, Kansas St.
Dennis Weathersby, Sr, Oregon St.
Willie Pile, Sr, Virgina Tech
Eugene Wilson, Sr, Illinois

Three finalists will be selected on Nov. 25. The winner will be announced on ESPN’s College Football Awards Show, broadcast from DisneyWorld on Dec. 12. Formal presentation of the award will be in Oklahoma City, Okla., at the annual Jim Thorpe Awards ceremonies on Feb. 11, 2003.

The Thorpe Award has been presented since 1986, based on the winner’s performance on the field, athletic ability and character.

Voted the 20th century’s greatest athlete in a poll by ABC’s Wide World of Sports, Jim Thorpe was a two-time All American running back and defensive, the winner of decathlon and pentathlon gold medals in the 1912 Olympics, and a standout in both professional football and baseball. He was the first president of what became the National Football League.

Previous winners include: Roy Williams, Oklahoma, 2001; Jamar Fletcher, Wisconsin, 2000; Tyrone Carter, Minnesota, 1999; Antoine Winfield, Ohio State, 1998; Charles Woodson, Michigan, 1997; Lawrence Wright, Florida, 1996; Greg Myers, Colorado State, 1995; Chris Hudson, Colorado, 1994; Antonio Langham, Alabama, 1993; Deon Figures, Colorado, 1992; Terrell Buckley, Florida State, 1991; Darryll Lewis, Arizona, 1990; Mark Carrier, USC, 1989; Deion Sanders, Florida State, 1988; Bennie Blades, Miami, and Rickey Dixon, Oklahoma, (tie) 1987; and Thomas Everett, Baylor, 1986.

For more information on Shane Walton, please visit his all-star website at: